INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Center channel sound issue  (Read 5787 times)

chirpp

• World Citizen
Center channel sound issue
« on: December 07, 2010, 03:20:17 pm »

I am a rookie and could use some surround help!

I have been doing my best  to get my htpc setup to my new Marantz stereo so I can play dvd’s, record  TV using Hauppage 1600 tuner, play video games (Wii and Ps/2) and play music.

I have limited inputs to the receiver itself:
Computer (using DVD inputs on the Marantz)
Games (using analog RCA inputs )

Initially when I purchased my receiver/speakers, I connected from my computer audio card (Envy24) using the 3.5 stereo output connection to my receiver RCA jack inputs.  Everything seemed OK then. I thought I would move up in the world and go with S/pdif fiber now.  Thinking maybe it would make a difference in movies, HDTV programs and whatever else I may come across.

I rebuilt my machine and setup CCCP:
FFDShow Audio Settings “3/0/2 – 5 Channel's. And the S/pdif area I checked AC3, DTS and ACS Encode output. Everything else was default except to not show in tray.
Still using the Envy 24 card, but connected using S/pdif.  I ran the program that comes with the sound card and made sure S/pdif output was enabled. In this program I can choose to test different modes – 2 speaker, 4 speaker, 5.1, 7.1. When I choose 5.1 I can click on each speaker and it should play a sound.  Doing this test I can only get sound using the front speakers – no center or rear!