INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Group by folder?  (Read 3924 times)

new2hifi

• Recent member
Group by folder?
« on: March 15, 2010, 02:27:37 pm »

Hi

I am new to Media Jukebox and want to group the items in now playing by folder. Currently I can do a similar thing by grouping by filename (path) but then instaed of showing the name of folder on the heading, it showes the whole path. Say, Titanic (1996) is the name of a folder in C drive the it shows c:\Titanic (1996), whereas I just want it to display Titanic (1996).

Please help!

Regards

marko

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Group by folder?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2010, 03:29:24 pm »

Grouping isn't available in the Playing Now list ?

If you want to group other lists by the containing folder, you first need to create a new library field, then group by it...

Create a new field:
In the top toolbar, click on Tools, then click on Options.
From your choices down the left hand side, choose "Library and Folders"
Second from the bottom on the right, choose "Manage library fields". A new dialogue opens...
Click on the "Add new field" button and you will be prompted for a name for your field. Enter a name, Directory, perhaps...
Next, select the "Calculated data" radio button, leave everything else at default.
Paste the blue text into the "expression" field: =ListItem([Filename (path)],Math(ListCount([Filename (path)],\)-1),\)
Press the OK button to accept field changes, press the OK button to accept option changes.

Now, when you choose to group by your new "Directory" field, your list will be grouped by containing directory.

-marko.

new2hifi

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: March 16, 2010, 05:55:01 pm »

Hi marko: