INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: DX/VST Plugin Support - General Improvements Needed (Anyone?)  (Read 3008 times)

d_pert

• Galactic Citizen
  • I love music and great audio!

Hi all (and the powers that be) ;) ,

I've been messing for a few months now with DX and VST plug-ins added to the DSP Studio and feel compelled to report that in general, the handling is poor and not really useable. I’m continually forced back on the net to look for a truly working, solid VST-host/media player app, but of course there isn’t one. I love MC14 for all its other superiorities and wouldn’t really be happy with any other app even if I found one. ;)

Here are some of the plugins I’ve used. All are purchased, latest versions, and work 100% reliably in Steinberg Cubase 5 (arguably the gold standard VST host  as Steinberg created the VST specification), on the same system(s) with absolutely none of the issues listed further below:

Waves 7 C4 Multiband Compressor (VST)
iZotope Ozone 4.03 Mastering Suite (DX and VST)
IK Multimedia  T-RackS 3 (VST)
IK Multimedia ARC System (VST)

Problems I'm encountering (intermittently, some sporadic, some frequent):
-effect of the plugin is not 'heard' (realized) unless I 'frig' with it, like select another item in the DSP studio for display and then return to it
-crashing of DSP Studio when a track change is made with the DSP Studio open and a plugin panel displayed
-different combinations of up to two plugins resulting in little bit of the previous track being heard when a new track is started (approx. 0.5 second snippet heard, seems to happen when at least one plugin in chain is a DX
-display GUI panel not shown completely, or not shown at all, intermittently
-settings inside plugins intermittently retained through MC14 restarts, or even sometimes closing and reopening of MC14