INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Skipping single item: WebRemote does it, DLNA server doesn't!  (Read 1436 times)

csimon

• Citizen of the Universe
Skipping single item: WebRemote does it, DLNA server doesn't!
« on: September 16, 2010, 05:38:06 pm »

Hi, I'm a newbie, only been playing with JRiver for a few days for its DLNA capabilities. It's far more flexible and easy to use than anything else I've tried and, above all, the DLNA server actually works along with the custom views which allow me to sort and categorise in any way I want!!

One confusing thing though.  In some cases I would like my custom views to skip a level if only one item is returned at that level. In other words, it will basically automatically select that item and move onto the next level.  An example of this might be if I am drilling down by artist and I only have one album for that artist, I might want to go straight to the track listing for that album.  Or if there is a category which doesn't have a value for this particular album, I don't want a menu with a single item of "unassigned" displayed, I just want it to skip that and move on to the next level.  (The exact situation is when I am using CD# to organise multi-CD sets, I want to get a menu of all CDs in that set if there is more than one, and if there is only one CD, as will be the case with most albums, or if the CD# field isn't populated, I want that menu level to be bypassed.)

When using WebRemote, this seems to happen perfectly.  But when using the DLNA server, menus of a single item are displayed and not skipped.  Ideally, I'd like to be able to set this skip facility on individual menu items and not globally for all levels, but in any case I can't find any global configuration for this in either the WebRemote setup or the DLNA server setup, and the way I've set up both servers is exactly the same.