INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: WDTVLIVE and Ripper Recommendation  (Read 1762 times)

porthacking

• Recent member
WDTVLIVE and Ripper Recommendation
« on: February 28, 2011, 10:05:56 pm »

Hi All,

I'm still new at this...perhaps you can help.

1) I am about to start ripping LOTS of DVDs. Any recommendations? I am looking for the best quality rips I can get. I'd also like to remove all region coding, menu scrolling limitations (i.e. when it doesn't let you skip through a preview). I will be storing everything as VIDEO_TS.

2) I have just bought a WDTV Live. I don't seem to be able to find the explanation I need for this...would someone mind explaining how to use the WDTV with JRiver. Does JRiver act as the media server, is it a renderer, DLNA? I don't seem to be able to get the terms straight.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

csimon

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: WDTVLIVE and Ripper Recommendation
« Reply #1 on: March 01, 2011, 04:55:59 am »

2. The WD TV Live is a DLNA Player and a DLNA Renderer.  JRiver is a DLNA Server, DLNA Controller and DLNA Renderer.  How you mix and match them is up to you!

See http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/DLNA and http://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Media_Network

If you use JRiver as the Server then you can use the WDTV as a Renderer (controlling it from the JRiver interface) or as a Player (using its own interface to browse the Server and play media).

You don't actually need a separate box such as the WD TV if you've got the PC that runs the media server connected to the TV and you're happy with controlling it that way.

porthacking

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: March 01, 2011, 06:57:39 am »

2. The WD TV Live is a DLNA Player and a DLNA Renderer.  JRiver is a DLNA Server, DLNA Controller and DLNA Renderer.  How you mix and match them is up to you!