INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: NEWBIE setup questions and mac compatibility  (Read 2189 times)

porthacking

• Recent member
NEWBIE setup questions and mac compatibility
« on: October 09, 2011, 01:47:22 am »

Hi All,

I am very new to this. I was not sure where to put this post, or exactly what questions to ask: I am hoping someone can point me in the right direction.

I have a MacBook Pro laptop running Lion.
I also have a W7 PC I built with 10TB of media on it.

Ultimately, I'd like a Mac OSX version of MC. This doesn't look like it will happen, so I am wondering what other options I have.

I am happy to run JRiver on the Windows PC, but it would be nice to control it from my Mac.
I gather there are iPhone/iPad apps that can control JRiv. Are there any in particular I should look at?
Can you install these on a Mac laptop and control JRiv in the same way?
Alternately, does anyone know a good way to run JRiv on a Mac. I have heard of programs like VMware Fusion. Has anyone had success with these?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: NEWBIE setup questions and mac compatibility
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2011, 07:16:26 am »

There is a Mac topic on our Wiki.  User glynor reported success.

You could use WebRemote (part of MC) on the mac with a browser.

khollister

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: October 09, 2011, 07:29:12 am »

One approach is to use a VNC client on your MBP to run a remote desktop of the Windows HTPC. I use Chicken of the VNC on my MacPro and MacbookPro to control a Mac Mini I use as a dedicated audiophile music server for my high-end headphone rig. I plan to do the same when I complete my MC16 HTPC setup.

I use Jump Desktop as a VNC client on my iPad.