INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What is the best way to organize content for DLNA playback ?  (Read 10881 times)

Dare978Devil

• Junior Woodchuck
What is the best way to organize content for DLNA playback ?
« on: December 07, 2011, 05:38:08 pm »

I find the default DLNA options somewhat goofy.  For Videos, the default choices are All Files by Date Imported, All files by Name, Years, Ratings, and Types.  Who thought that up?  Does anyone organize their vids this way?  This is not an MC criticism, because all DLNA servers are the same with the same goofy default options.

I have been using XBMC on an original XBOX for 8 years, mainly for the kids.  They can all operate it without help from me.  I take all of their DVDs and make Divx out of them, and then stick them in an easy-to-understand folder.  So when they launch XBMC, they just go into the Teen Titans dir if that is what they want, and they see the eps in order.  Or Dora, or Scooby Doo, or whatever.  It is very easy, and SMB shares are super-easy to set up.  Essentially, you just pick the parent folder you want to share, and that's it.  Any new vids get added to new sub-dirs and they instantly show up.