INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Installing Media Center and Remote access...  (Read 2167 times)

VinBob

• Junior Woodchuck
Installing Media Center and Remote access...
« on: December 18, 2011, 01:45:26 pm »

Hello All,

I am new to JRiver MC and am looking for some advice on a couple of things. Essentially, I am looking to use the Media Center application on a NetBook directly attached to a DAC. Question I have, is can the software be installed on a Windows 7 Starter NetBook or do I need the full Windows OS version? Also, is there a companion application I can run on a iPad/iPod to control the media center without having to be at the device to change selections etc.?

Also would appreciate any advice from anyone running this on a NetBook, such as what the minimum specs for such a device would be to perform well.

Thanks in advance!
Vin.

qdfb

• Recent member
Re: Installing Media Center and Remote access...
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2011, 04:03:03 pm »

Gizmo for Android works brilliantly (download from Androd app store).  Now I have remote control in theatre view over my home network to control the Win 7 laptop running Media Centre 17, all from the comfort of my armchair.

Surely more versatile than the latest megabuck musc servers...

QB

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2011, 04:26:03 pm »

... I am looking to use the Media Center application on a NetBook directly attached to a DAC. ... can the software be installed on a Windows 7 Starter NetBook

....is there a companion application I can run on a iPad/iPod to control the media center without having to be at the device to change selections etc.?

Also would appreciate any advice from anyone running this on a NetBook, such as what the minimum specs for such a device would be to perform well.
Welcome to the forum.