INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Are the differences between different audio drivers actually audible?  (Read 2728 times)

Lunatique

• World Citizen

My question is: We're told that Direct Sound, which goes through Windows system, sounds worse than ASIO, kernel streaming, and WASAPI. But does it REALLY sound WORSE? Can people really hear any differences between Direct Sound and the other drivers? Personally, I don't think I've ever heard any audible differences, and I'm an audio professional (composer, sound designer) working with high-end gear in a music production studio.

Because ASIO often hijacks my computer's audio even after I close MC, I'd prefer to not use it and use Direct Sound instead, but I just want to know if there are any other issues besides "perceived" sound quality differences.

craigmcg

• World Citizen
Re: Are the differences between different audio drivers actually audible?
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2012, 02:45:34 am »

Empirically speaking, there is less processing done to ASIO/KS/WASAPI output  (assuming my understanding that Direct Sound goes through the Windows Mixer while ASIO/KS/WASAPI do not is correct) and so less likelihood of sound degradation. I believe that the Windows mixer was not as good in previous versions of Windows as it may be now.

Whether or not you, or anyone else, can actually hear a difference between the output modes will depend upon the quality of the audio hardware's drivers, the hardware itself, the listening material/environment, and your ears.