INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Ripping CDs settings advice desired  (Read 2039 times)

KDPearson

• Recent member
Ripping CDs settings advice desired
« on: March 05, 2012, 10:44:38 am »

I am preparing to rip my CD collection to FLAC using Media Server.  I’m new to FLAC encoding and Media Server.    Before I start this process I want to make sure I have the rip options set correctly.  I don’t want to find out I’ve made a mistake and have to start over.  I have taken the time to review the forum and wiki to see what I can learn.

Let me also say that my primary goals are music quality and long run usage.  Saving disk space is not important, disk space is cheap.  I will be listening mostly on my home theater system and playing music from my computer through my DAC.  I chose FLAC because I thought it would be an encoding scheme supported for many years and that the metadata would transport between computers as I upgrade over the years.

Here are the encoding settings I’ve chosen:
Copy Mode=Secure
Read Speed=Max
Analyze Audio during ripping=check
Encode concurrently with ripping=check
Max rip processes=1
Quality Settings=0
Verify Encoding=x
Add 4k padding block=x
Add seek table (if possible)=x
Use Ogg as transport layer (*.ogg)=blank

I assume “check” and “x” both mean yes.  I’m confused why some places in Media Server use check marks and some use x marks.

Should I change “Quality Settings” to 8?  I’m not sure how the scale works.  I assumed most compressed meant lowest quality, but I might be wrong.  I read somewhere that it had to do with time spent encoding not the quality of encoding.  Some guidance would be helpful here.

Should I be setting anything else to adjust bitrates or any other quality settings?

Thanks.  Kent

Listener

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Ripping CDs settings advice desired