INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Ripping Speeds  (Read 699 times)

nila

Ripping Speeds
« on: May 08, 2002, 02:36:03 pm »

IGNORE THIS - I started playing around a bit in the settings and after setting the mode to ASPII I found I was getting a lot faster speeds.
They now match EAC more or less.
Pity there's no option to delete posts so I can remove this to not waste you guy's time.
Thanks and Sorry for the wasted post!
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hiya,
Just tried to rip an album. You've included ripping speed now which is quite nice. - Thanks!
I chose as the encoding method just plain .wav (ie not encoded).
I was getting ripping speeds of around 5.7 which I thought was a bit slow so I loaded up EAC and tried to rip it.
EAC instantly got around 9 - 10 for the same track.

I'm using Digital Large Buffer which I believe is your fastest rip setting.
Speed is set to Max, Type is: Auto Config.
THe drive is a Plextor: 124Tsi internal SCSI CDRW.
I'm on Win2k professional.

Any ideas?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DocLotus

RE:Ripping Speeds
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2002, 02:53:53 pm »

Sounds interesting.  But, what is EAC?

Alonso Nefarious

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2002, 03:43:25 pm »

Exact Audio Copy: A freeware program widly regarded as (one of?) the best rippers.  Features are very deep, and can be tweeked to the n-th degree.

FAQ, How-To, link to program:
http://www.chrismyden.com/nuke/modules.php?op=modload&name=Elite_DAE/eac&file=index

Mysticeti

« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2002, 04:50:32 pm »

Where abouts is that ASPII setting?

Thanks.

nila

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2002, 03:02:18 am »

It's in the Device settings in Options.
This works because I have a SCSI drive.