INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie Can't Get JRiver MC to Recognize DLNA  (Read 1453 times)

philk13

Newbie Can't Get JRiver MC to Recognize DLNA
« on: April 08, 2012, 11:16:38 am »

Hello,

Complete newbie here -- any assistance/suggestions would be appreciated.  How do I "turn on" DLNA in JRiver MC?  I don't mean the server function, I mean getting it to recognize my NAS's DLNA?

I have a Synology NAS and a AsRock Vision 3D HTPC.  Everything else on my network recognizes the Synology's DLNA service -- even XBMC and Windows Media Center on the HTPC.  When I loaded XBMC and WMC, they just "saw" the NAS's DLNA.  Wasn't entirely happy with XBMC so I am trying JRiver MC, which is awesome in every way so far, but....  it isn't seeing the DLNA.  I'll sadly need to return to XBMC if I can't use DLNA with MC.

I read the forums here, and others are using Synology NASs, so I assume it is compatible?  And since I see the NAS via DLNA elsewhere, I know that's working.  Any ideas?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Newbie Can't Get JRiver MC to Recognize DLNA
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2012, 11:19:47 am »

Welcome to Interact.  The setting for Media Network should be checked in MC's options.  You may need to turn on "DLNA Extra".

After a minute or two, the server should show up under Playing Now.

philk13

Re: Newbie Can't Get JRiver MC to Recognize DLNA
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2012, 12:03:18 pm »

Hello, thanks first for such an incredibly fast response -- especially on a Easter Sunday.