INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Theater view over homenetwork - possible?  (Read 2853 times)

qwert73

• Recent member
Theater view over homenetwork - possible?
« on: May 11, 2012, 02:25:21 pm »

In the next 2 or 3 months i am going to buy a Philips 47-inch TV. I am a total noob when it comes to the topic "media network". So i took some time for getting information. After one week of research i decided that it could be a good idea to add the WDTV SMP Box to my new TV and a NAS (one week ago i didn't know what this is! ;D) to my router. For sure then i will at last purchase MC17. Now there remains just one question: Is it at all possible to use the theater view in above described setup (means: no direct connection between PC and TV but just over homenetwork) and - if yes - what remote would i use to control theater view on TV (my PC is in another room)? Gizmo?

(BTW: Is the wdtv box a good decision or do you would recommend another media player box? And to all you wdtv users: since wd has released several boxes in the last years: is there a time rythm so that you can say the next box will be released probably this year? I don't want to buy the wdtv smp just to see two months later the new generation)

pcstockton

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Theater view over homenetwork - possible?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2012, 03:11:10 pm »

it might work if your tv could do screen sharing or something.  I could be wrong but I dont think you can stream the GUI.

You could however put all of your drives and Main MC server in the other room, then add a cheap, small HTPC for your TV room.  Install MC on both and share the library from one to the other.

Just a thought.
Patrick