INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: HTPC - Local Storage vs Remote Storage and Video Card Audio  (Read 2649 times)

coderego

• Junior Woodchuck
HTPC - Local Storage vs Remote Storage and Video Card Audio
« on: September 21, 2012, 06:58:25 am »

Hi I'm new to the JRiver community!

Thus far, I've stored all of my media on a single PC containing 4 - 2TB drives in a Raid 5 array. This gives me about 6TB of storage space. I've then been using PS3MediaServer to stream content to my PS3. Lately, I've been running into more and more issues that just frustrate me. Example: I can't be arsed dealing with disks so I rip all my blurays to my HDDs. PS3 stops me from watching my legally owned media due to DRM. (is this a problem im likely to have with JRiver?)

So a few questions to start:

1) I just purchased a new PC and am "demoting" my current one to be my HTPC and replace the ps3. Should I keep the storage local? What is the advantage of building a third box, one just for storage? Is it only noise? Cuz these drives are pretty quiet and my speakers are quite loud!!

2) The video card I have planned for this is an HD4350. Is that sufficent for 1080P output and audio over HDMI? A follow up question: I have a Denon 2112CI reciever, does the card's audio output support HD codecs? Is it advanced enough for this receiver?

3) I planned to take the SSD out of my HTPC and place it in the new pc. I have a WD Cavier Black I was going to use as the boot drive for the htpc. Is it worth buying a second SSD?

Thanks!!

user38

• Recent member
Re: HTPC - Local Storage vs Remote Storage and Video Card Audio
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2012, 04:18:44 am »

Hi