INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers  (Read 3972 times)

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« on: August 23, 2012, 12:57:10 am »

You can customise MC's Now Playing display, and (e.g.) for Play Mode (Alternative) I have the following setting:

[Remaining Time] // [Total Time] - [Sample Rate] kHz - [Channels] ch 

However I notice that when MC is monitoring the playing state of a remote UPnP Renderer (via GetPositionInfo) it does not include the respective Sample Rate and Channels information. GetPositionInfo does supply that information in the res element of the current track meta data, so I suppose that MC is simply overlooking to use it in the display. Or ??

Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13601
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2012, 04:06:18 pm »

Well, it looks like we are reading those in.
Can you check your file display info for the track you are playing under "playing now" in MC?
The values should be there... They are if I try PlugPlayer.
Logged

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2012, 11:51:24 am »

Well, it looks like we are reading those in.

Oops. :o Humbly begging your apology. It looks like Whitebear was not sending them after all...

Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #3 on: August 28, 2012, 12:37:18 pm »


Well, it looks like we are reading those in.
Can you check your file display info for the track you are playing under "playing now" in MC?

Hi bob,

I have been hacking away at this one for days, and I still cannot persuade MC to display the kHz and channel info in its now playing pane; it always shows [-3:36 / 3:36 - 0.0 kHz - 0 ch - 1 of 1 Living Room (by Whitebear)] so I attach below a capture of what my renderer is sending in response to GetPositionInf() and it sends the same meta data in response to GetMediaInfo. => Can you please advise what I may be sending, that MC does not like?

Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<soap:Envelope xmlns:soap="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/" soap:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/">
<soap:Body>
<u:GetPositionInfoResponse xmlns:u="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:AVTransport:1">
<Track>1</Track>
<TrackDuration>0:03:36</TrackDuration>
<TrackMetaData>&lt;DIDL-Lite xmlns="urn:schemas-upnp-org:metadata-1-0/DIDL-Lite/" xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/" xmlns:upnp="urn:schemas-upnp-org:metadata-1-0/upnp/" xmlns:dlna="urn:schemas-dlna-org:metadata-1-0"&gt;
&lt;item id="url:whitebear://192.168.1.32:52100/Music/F89.flac;4" parentID="4" restricted="1"&gt;
&lt;dc:title&gt;flac-16-44100&lt;/dc:title&gt;
&lt;upnp:class&gt;object.item.audioItem.musicTrack&lt;/upnp:class&gt;
&lt;upnp:artist role="Performer"&gt;Engegårdkvartetten&lt;/upnp:artist&gt;
&lt;dc:creator&gt;Engegårdkvartetten&lt;/dc:creator&gt;
&lt;upnp:album&gt;STRING QUARTETS&lt;/upnp:album&gt;
&lt;upnp:albumArtURI dlna:profileID="JPEG_SM"&gt;http://192.168.1.32:52100/AArt/89.jpg&lt;/upnp:albumArtURI&gt;
&lt;res protocolInfo="http-get:*:audio/x-flac:*" size="18063000" duration="0:03:36" bitrate="83625" sampleFrequency="44100" bitsPerSample="16" nrAudioChannels="2"&gt;http://192.168.1.32:52100/Music/F89.flac&lt;/res&gt;
&lt;/item&gt;&lt;/DIDL-Lite&gt;</TrackMetaData>
<TrackURI>http://192.168.1.32:52100/Music/F89.flac</TrackURI>
<RelTime>0:00:00</RelTime>
<AbsTime>0:00:00</AbsTime>
<RelCount>0</RelCount>
<AbsCount>0</AbsCount>
</u:GetPositionInfoResponse>
</soap:Body>
</soap:Envelope>

Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13601
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2012, 04:38:22 pm »

That looks fine to me.
I just tried it with the bubbleupnp control point on Android and in my playing now I see the correct values in the fields. Do see them there (and perhaps not in your customized display)?
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13601
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2012, 05:11:49 pm »

I also get it in the alternate display so there must still be something off..

Here is what bubble sends (sorry about the dumb formatting):
Code: [Select]
POST /AVTransport/control HTTP/1.1

Content-type: text/xml;charset="utf-8"

Soapaction: "urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:AVTransport:1#SetAVTransportURI"

Content-Length: 1838

Host: 199.242.131.131:52109

Connection: Keep-Alive

User-Agent: Android/4.0.4 UPnP/1.0 BubbleUPnP/1.5.1



<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8" standalone="yes"?><s:Envelope s:encodingStyle="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/encoding/" xmlns:s="http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/soap/envelope/"><s:Body><u:SetAVTransportURI xmlns:u="urn:schemas-upnp-org:service:AVTransport:1"><InstanceID>0</InstanceID><CurrentURI>http://199.242.131.131:52104/Music/F134643.flac</CurrentURI><CurrentURIMetaData>&lt;DIDL-Lite xmlns=&quot;urn:schemas-upnp-org:metadata-1-0/DIDL-Lite/&quot; xmlns:upnp=&quot;urn:schemas-upnp-org:metadata-1-0/upnp/&quot; xmlns:dc=&quot;http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/&quot; xmlns:dlna=&quot;urn:schemas-dlna-org:metadata-1-0/&quot;&gt;&lt;item id=&quot;F134643&quot; parentID=&quot;1369&quot; restricted=&quot;1&quot;&gt;&lt;upnp:class&gt;object.item.audioItem.musicTrack&lt;/upnp:class&gt;&lt;dc:title&gt;Your Good Thing (Is About to End)&lt;/dc:title&gt;&lt;dc:creator&gt;Mable John&lt;/dc:creator&gt;&lt;upnp:artist&gt;Mable John&lt;/upnp:artist&gt;&lt;upnp:artist upnp:role=&quot;AlbumArtist&quot;&gt;(Multiple Artists)&lt;/upnp:artist&gt;&lt;upnp:albumArtURI&gt;http://199.242.131.131:52104/AArs/134643.jpg&lt;/upnp:albumArtURI&gt;&lt;upnp:genre&gt;Soul&lt;/upnp:genre&gt;&lt;upnp:album&gt;Stax 50th Anniversary Celebration (Disc 1 of 2)&lt;/upnp:album&gt;&lt;upnp:originalTrackNumber&gt;13&lt;/upnp:originalTrackNumber&gt;&lt;dc:date&gt;2007-01-01T00:00:00&lt;/dc:date&gt;&lt;res protocolInfo=&quot;http-get:*:audio/x-flac:DLNA.ORG_PN=FLAC;DLNA.ORG_OP=01;DLNA.ORG_CI=0;DLNA.ORG_FLAGS=01700000000000000000000000000000&quot; bitsPerSample=&quot;16&quot; sampleFrequency=&quot;44100&quot; nrAudioChannels=&quot;2&quot; size=&quot;11911359&quot; duration=&quot;0:02:57.000&quot;&gt;http://199.242.131.131:52104/Music/F134643.flac&lt;/res&gt;&lt;/item&gt;&lt;/DIDL-Lite&gt;</CurrentURIMetaData></u:SetAVTransportURI></s:Body></s:Envelope>HTTP/1.1 2

Logged

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #6 on: August 29, 2012, 01:03:48 am »

I also get it in the alternate display so there must still be something off..
Here is what bubble sends (sorry about the dumb formatting):

Hi bob,

It looks like we are talking about two completely different things:

- Your log shows the case when bubble (acting as Control Point) does a Play To MC's internal Renderer; and in that case the Now Playing display of MC's renderer does extract the metadata fields that are sent to it via the CP's SetAvTransportUri command.

- However I am referring to the opposite case where MC (acting as Control Point) does a Play To an external Renderer; now in this case MC's Now Playing display (for the external renderer) should, but does not, extract the metadata fields that it fetches from the Renderer via its GetPositionInfo and/or GetMediaInfo commands.

Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

kamimeguro

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 78
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #7 on: August 30, 2012, 09:04:09 am »

Hi Bob,

I know Onkyo might not be the best in DLNA implementation, but same here, the sample rate and channels are not showing up when playing, wherever sent, server itself or client...

Kami
Logged
Win 10 pro, Oppo 105, Onkyo TX-NR818, Elipson Axial 160, B&W 805S, Linn 5150, Yamaha GT750, Sony KDL-55W900A...

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13601
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #8 on: August 30, 2012, 12:58:23 pm »

Hi bob,

It looks like we are talking about two completely different things:

- Your log shows the case when bubble (acting as Control Point) does a Play To MC's internal Renderer; and in that case the Now Playing display of MC's renderer does extract the metadata fields that are sent to it via the CP's SetAvTransportUri command.

- However I am referring to the opposite case where MC (acting as Control Point) does a Play To an external Renderer; now in this case MC's Now Playing display (for the external renderer) should, but does not, extract the metadata fields that it fetches from the Renderer via its GetPositionInfo and/or GetMediaInfo commands.


Ok, I understand now. How about the display of the file info line, is the information there in yours? (like in my picture above?)
Logged

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #9 on: August 30, 2012, 02:55:52 pm »

Ok, I understand now. How about the display of the file info line, is the information there in yours? (like in my picture above?)

The file info line shows most of the possible metadata tags just fine. I tried adding all the appropriate tag fields in the customise dialog to see which work and which do not. The ones that work are: title, album, genre, artist, composer, year, file-size, bit-depth. The ones that do not work are: sample-rate and channels. So to be specific, sample-rate and channels work neither in the top title line, nor in the sub title line of the display.

Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13601
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #10 on: August 31, 2012, 10:16:33 am »

The file info line shows most of the possible metadata tags just fine. I tried adding all the appropriate tag fields in the customise dialog to see which work and which do not. The ones that work are: title, album, genre, artist, composer, year, file-size, bit-depth. The ones that do not work are: sample-rate and channels. So to be specific, sample-rate and channels work neither in the top title line, nor in the sub title line of the display.

But the sample rate and channels do exist in the body of the playing now screen where it lists the file it's playing (as per my example), right? That is where the parsed didl information shows up.

The stuff at the top (alternate display, etc) is displaying the sample rate and channels of material currently being output ON THE PC. Now that particular item looks to be a bug, it should reflect whatever is playing the the zone.
Logged

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #11 on: September 01, 2012, 05:10:51 am »

But the sample rate and channels do exist in the body of the playing now screen where it lists the file it's playing (as per my example), right? That is where the parsed didl information shows up.

The stuff at the top (alternate display, etc) is displaying the sample rate and channels of material currently being output ON THE PC. Now that particular item looks to be a bug, it should reflect whatever is playing the the zone.

Here is a screenshot...

When MC pushes the track via SetAvTransportUri, its main display should show the attributes of what it pushed, but the top panel should show what it retrieves in the DIDL from the renderer via GetPositionInfo / GetMediaInfo. That way you can confirm if the renderer is actually playing the same as what you pushed to it. And when a third party CP does the SetAvTransportUri push, MC can still monitor via GetPositionInfo / GetMediaInfo what the renderer is playing.

EDIT: And by the way, the issue is NOT due to the Renderer returning too few or wrong DIDL elements. I tested this by having GetPositionInfo // GetMediaInfo simply mirror back the same DIDL that MC sends in SetAvTransportUri. => So if MC doesn't like the DIDL, well..., it your own fault ;-)
Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

Peter_RN

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Old Guys Rule... the older I get the better I was.
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #12 on: September 02, 2012, 06:52:25 am »

Hi all,

I get the same issue when playing on my Naim streamers (Qute & NDX). However, Naim streamers cannot be pushed too, so I build playlists and then select them from the streamer. This works extremely well in J River, the only player I have found that works well in all aspects of playback; except for the issue discussed here.

I posted the following thread about this but did not receive any response.  http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=73597.0

I have purchased MC18 in the hope that this may be resolved but I can’t think of anything else, with the possible exception of the ability to set a Max sample rate above which MC would change the streaming rate i.e. 96Khz streamed as is - but 192kHz and above would be streamed at 96kHz.

Regards
Peter
Logged

bob

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 13601
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #13 on: September 04, 2012, 11:02:01 am »

Here is a screenshot...

When MC pushes the track via SetAvTransportUri, its main display should show the attributes of what it pushed, but the top panel should show what it retrieves in the DIDL from the renderer via GetPositionInfo / GetMediaInfo. That way you can confirm if the renderer is actually playing the same as what you pushed to it. And when a third party CP does the SetAvTransportUri push, MC can still monitor via GetPositionInfo / GetMediaInfo what the renderer is playing.

EDIT: And by the way, the issue is NOT due to the Renderer returning too few or wrong DIDL elements. I tested this by having GetPositionInfo // GetMediaInfo simply mirror back the same DIDL that MC sends in SetAvTransportUri. => So if MC doesn't like the DIDL, well..., it your own fault ;-)

I'm probably not being clear, the display of the file info in the lower half of your screen pic displays all of the fields received in GetPositionInfo (if you enable them, since I don't see sample rate and channels I assume they are not enabled for display).

The information in the top should reflect that. It doesn't which means there is a bug on our side.

This applies to your problem as well Peter...

Logged

AndrewFG

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3392
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #14 on: September 04, 2012, 01:39:49 pm »

The display of the file info in the lower half of your screen pic displays all of the fields received in GetPositionInfo (if you enable them, since I don't see sample rate and channels I assume they are not enabled for display).

The information in the top should reflect that. It doesn't which means there is a bug on our side.

Correct: if I enable sample rate and channels in the lower half of the display, they show up fine; -- but they never show up on the top.
Logged
Author of Whitebear Digital Media Renderer Analyser - http://www.whitebear.ch/dmra.htm
Author of Whitebear - http://www.whitebear.ch/mediaserver.htm

Peter_RN

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 127
  • Old Guys Rule... the older I get the better I was.
Re: MC Now Playing display for remote UPnP renderers
« Reply #15 on: September 05, 2012, 02:41:09 pm »

Thanks Bob……… I can confirm that I have sample rate showing in the main window, playlist etc which displays correctly. It is just not displaying in the top window (now playing). Not the end of the world but would be nice if it could be got working.

Many thanks
Peter
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up