INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Initialkey in MC17?  (Read 3286 times)

Mirlynn

• Recent member
Initialkey in MC17?
« on: April 15, 2012, 02:05:58 am »

I am looking to be able to view the Key values I have assigned and stored in my MP3 to date. As a DJ this is very important to me. I use a separate program called Mixed In Key to both calculate BPM as well as provide they Key the music is in.

I am relatively new to Media Center 17. Historically I have used MP3Tag to handle all my tagging needs. I would LOVE to be able that functionality into MC17 (if I can). In MP3Tag, Key = Initialkey.

Based on ID3 v2 spec, Key is referred to as TKEY. See:

TKEY
   The 'Initial key' frame contains the musical key in which the sound
   starts. It is represented as a string with a maximum length of three
   characters. The ground keys are represented with "A","B","C","D","E",
   "F" and "G" and halfkeys represented with "b" and "#". Minor is
   represented as "m", e.g. "Dbm" $00. Off key is represented with an
   "o" only.

FROM this URL - http://www.id3.org/id3v2.4.0-frames

Needless to say, I have tried to search the JRiver forum as well as tried various ways to create a new field in MC17. From previous posts my hope would be that I could just add a field called "TKEY" or "Initialkey" and MC17 would pick it up when it reads from the file (I know the key data is stored in the files I am testing with).

Unfortunately, MC17 does not seem to pickup the Key data from my tags.

Has anyone else done this? There are a variety of options to configure when creating a new field. I could easily see screwing that up and not getting something correct. If anyone has any feedback, I would GREATLY appreciate it. This is about the last thing that is REALLY causing me pain at the moment with using MC17.

Thanks in advance!!!

rick.ca

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Initialkey in MC17?