INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Properly tagging CD's with DJ remixes (trance/dance)  (Read 1115 times)

InflatableMouse

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Properly tagging CD's with DJ remixes (trance/dance)
« on: December 27, 2012, 09:41:44 am »

I've no experience with stuff like this cos its not my kinda thing, but if I wanted to tag this properly how would I go about doing it?

Currently its set like this:
Album: Big Room Trance
Album Artist: Armin van Buuren
Album Type: Multiple Artists (complete)
Artist: (Varies) <-- contains the original artists before Armin raped it :P.

I don't know if this is the correct way, but problems I see is if I use rename/move/copy (and keep Assorted ticked) it moves it correctly to Assorted folder but my Panes won't show it under Album/Artist (auto), because that's all set to Armin van Buuren.

Or Maybe I've got Panes setup incorrectly? Should I be using Artist instead of Album/Artist (auto)?

Thanks.

MrC

• Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Properly tagging CD's with DJ remixes (trance/dance)
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2012, 01:12:50 pm »

When Album Artist is set, it is used in the default views.  If you want this compilation to be listed under Various, or (Multiple Artists), clear Album Artist.

Alternatively, you can customize a view to show compilation albums under some collective grouping (e.g. _Compilations), and then show Album Artist\Album under that.  This would be 3 levels vs. the common 2 levels of Album Artist (auto)\Album.
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

InflatableMouse

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: December 27, 2012, 02:52:48 pm »

Thanks, though its not really a question about how to show them properly with the current tags, but how to tag it properly for this kind of music. Then I can see if views need changing.