INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Media Network setup with Soundbridge and wma lossless - Help!  (Read 2840 times)

rknox

• Recent member
Media Network setup with Soundbridge and wma lossless - Help!
« on: December 18, 2012, 01:57:28 am »

I am a Media Center newbie - looking forward to exploring computer audio.   I was drawn however to MC because of its dlna controller capability.

I have been streaming wma lossless to two Roku Soundbridge devices (m500/m1000) for several years.   I know they are getting old but still work wonderfully as rendering devices.   I sometimes use the cidero controller to sync playback on the two rokus, but it is very out of date.

So, I thought I would try out MC and became intrigued with the management, controller and zone capabilities of MC.  Unfortunately I have had limited success using MC with the soundbridges.   I have several hundred albums in wma lossless format on a whs server with Microsoft wmc.   As I mentioned this works flawlessly streaming directly to the Rokus.  Here's my experience:

- I started with the latest 18 release but could not get any format to play on the Roku.  I am aware of the limitation of the Roku Soundbridge (RS) in that it can't handle wma lossless native.  But the RS can detect high bit rate wma and request wave file transcoding.   Again this works fine directly with wmc.   In my early attempts therefore I tried mp3 and m4a files in addition to wma lossless, suspicious that there might be transcoding issues.   But I could not stream any format through MC.
- next I played around with versions 16 (still no luck) and version 15 where today I finally was able to control and play mp3 and m4a files.   Wma lossless still won't work however.