INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Creating smart lists for each composer  (Read 1199 times)

PhilipAC

• Recent member
Creating smart lists for each composer
« on: February 23, 2013, 09:53:58 am »

Hi all

I'm new to MC, so I'm hoping someone can help me.

In iTunes, I can create a Smart Playlist for each of my classical composers, so that when I go into Mahler,say,
I get a screen showing the album covers for all my Mahler albums. I click on the album cover of the disc I want
to play, and the tracks appear below the album.

How do I do the same thing in MC please? Smartlists or Playlists aren't the answer, because they only produce
track files- I want album covers.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Philip

MrC

• Citizen of the Universe
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: Creating smart lists for each composer
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2013, 01:03:35 pm »

It sounds like you want to create a view that is geared towards classical music.

The MC users Vincent Kars has some fine instructions that, though dated, give some ideas what you can do for classical music.  Take a look at his Classical section:

http://thewelltemperedcomputer.com/SW/Players/JRiver/Classical.htm

to see if that gives you some ideas what you can do.

Views can be created and customized an many ways, so its worth spending a little time reviewing how to create and customize views.  User marco has done a wonderful job providing an overview:

http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=68960.0

In essence, you want to create a new Categories view, that includes the primary category of Composer so you can drill down into album, and then works or track selections.