INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Can HDMI output on a laptop offer better SQ than headphone output?  (Read 16663 times)

haggis999

• Galactic Citizen

I bought a new Samsung Chronos 7 laptop last year which doesn't have the traditional phono audio outputs. Instead, it only has a mini jack socket for headphones and an HDMI socket. The Samsung manual refers to this HDMI output as intended for a TV connection but I assume it carries both audio and video and is not just restricted to TV usage.

The use of a mini jack to twin phono adapter has enabled me to connect the laptop to my hi-fi preamp via the headphone output and play music stored on the laptop (in FLAC format) via MC 18. No problems with sound quality were immediately obvious but I only tried this for the first time late last night and have thus only heard a small sample of music.

I have very little experience in the field of computer audio. Is a headphone output likely to be a flawed source? Could I exploit the HDMI output to obtain better sound quality? Can a laptop ever act as an audiophile music source?

David

EDIT: On reflection, I think I already know the answer to my last question. I know you can spend quite a lot of money on an audiophile quality async USB to SPDIF converter which then enables a connection to as fancy an external DAC as you care to buy. There are even a few DACs with USB inputs.

harshtimez

Re: Can HDMI output on a laptop offer better SQ than headphone output?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2013, 05:08:16 pm »

HDMI is the least preferable way to output music, for me. I only use it for movies on my Oppo. Analog outs sound smoother and warm, HDMI sound sterile and analytical.

Micromecca

• Galactic Citizen
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2013, 07:05:53 pm »