INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Server software  (Read 1100 times)

OldMacDonald,eieio

Server software
« on: February 24, 2013, 06:13:40 am »

Let me introduce myself. I am just getting started downloading the JRiver MC software …. I truly hope I get the support and help I need although I am generally fairly capable with a little programming, UNIX, C++, and Winders OS.

When I went to the first JRiver "latest and greatest page" before creating an account, I received a download SWV 18.106. I read a bit further and found that if necessary, I could back track to an older version, which at the time seemed to be 17.189 was the best. NOW, I see that hot off the released line is 18.316 and from the history, it looks to be the best but still really, really new. So, I am covered on software, I think.  ? Doesn't matter because I am sure I am optimistic this will work eventually.

I have searched and searched for decent server software that could handle all of my needs. I have tried many in public domain and private label. I do not mind paying for support and upgrades. I want a single, central server (I have NAS drives on my network) but mainly for backup. The "server hardware" I will be using is and older 3.0 Mhz, quad core, 8 Gb, Dell Studio (the case is the fat one, like me) with an NVidia GeForce graphics card. I have a good, fast 3 Tb of fast fixed disk and two smaller disks (2.5”) that are RAID or ATA, hot swappable. Right now, they are ATA but I can configure and increase or decrease storage on those particular two drives at a whim.
|
I have two HDHomerun TV tuners and that is the bane of all the servers software and me. To simply get OTA  digital TV signals to play live and time shift recordings if watched in another room has been impossible for in my minds eye. I have four turners.