INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: video looks different with different software - which one is right?  (Read 4033 times)

maxxsid

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe

Hello,
It's a software question not hardware but still...
Just noticed this as I just started shooting HD movies with my camera.
Movies are QuickTime MOV (MPEG4 Video (H264) 1920x1080 29.97fps).
The movies look different when played on different players.
QuickTime Player (and Corel VideoStudio which uses QT engine) playback looks more natural too me.
The rest (MC, MPC, WMP, CyberLink) produce output which is much more contrasty and saturated.
If I convert to mp4 (MPEG4 Video (H264) 1920x1080 30fps) - all players play in the same way.
What's going on and which one is right?
Examples:
QuickTime/Corel

The rest

Any idea?
Thanks!
--max

InflatableMouse

• MC Beta Team

MC of course  ;D

Nah, just kidding. Interesting question though.

The top one has my preference as well but that doesn't mean anything. Given the fact that only QT renders it slightly less saturated I'm inclined to say may do some processing on it?

maxxsid

• MC Beta Team

I just did some googling and it seems that there's a so called "gamma shift" in QT. Looks like QT applies a gamma shift (1.2 factor as I got from photoshop). In my case it produces good results but it actually changes the source...
Apple... meh..

maxxsid

• MC Beta Team

Well, it's QT's (Apple's) fault for sure. Knowing this, I just need to apply "gamma -20" in Corel VideoStudio when editing/converting the videos. Or switch to some other video editing software (which sux) - tried CyberLink PowerDirector and it looks good.
The whole issue arose when I noticed that my edited videos looked lighter/washed-out after being processed by Corel VideoStudio (which uses QT)

--max

maxxsid

• MC Beta Team