INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How to manage large libraries, playlists and smartlists?  (Read 4248 times)

pvanosta

• Recent member
How to manage large libraries, playlists and smartlists?
« on: April 20, 2014, 11:02:24 am »

I am a JRiver newbie, but smewhat of a DLNA / network streaming veteran (I have been using Mezzmo and Twonky for years and even tweaked Twonkyconfig to allow for the direct streaming of DSD files to my Oppo).
My system:
Windows 8.1 pro PC, external Raid, LAN connection to main audio/video system, My River remote app on my Ipad:
Oppo 105
Parasound JC2-BP preamp (music plays from Oppo balanced output to Parasound balanced input to bel canto balanced, using thr Parasound's bypass function to create a clean, separate audio chain)
Bel Canto ref 1000 monoblocks
Thiel CS7 main speakers
Pioneer AVR and Swans surround / center channel speakers for movies etc.

The make-up of the system is not relevant to the questions, other than to indicate that I am serious about my music listening.

Now: I have some general questions where I am looking for input / feedback / tips from experienced JRiver MC users:

1. How do you effectively manage large libraries (I have approx. 80,000 tracks/files spanning all genres of music)
2. I have created some basic genre-based playlists. I like to use these to more quickly find a particular album. However, I can't seem to find a quick way to START PLAY from a particular track (e.g. track 1 of an album inside the playlist) and then have JRiver play on from there until I tell it to stop, until the end of the playlist or until the end of the album. Am I missing something?