INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: down sampled or transcoded files accessed through shared libraries?  (Read 1175 times)

Acrid Avid

• Recent member

Hello all.

I'm new to J River Media Center and trying to set it up on multiple computers.  I was hoping to set one computer as a main MC server where I do most of my library manipulation, create playlists, etc.  And then use other computers to access the media library as a shared library and not have to recreate views/playlists, etc.

At first, I thought I was headed in the right direction, but then I realized that my high res audio when accessed through one of the client computers was not playing at full resolution.  At least, the audio path was saying the input was 44.1 kHz.  And the display in the top center was reading 320 kbps.  I know the files I were playing were 96 kHz/24 bit flac files.  When I play that same file directly from my main library, and not through a shared library, it plays it as 96 khz/24 bit.

Am I doing something wrong?  Is this normal function through shared libraries--to transcode or down sample the files?

I am coming from iTunes, where I was able to keep a mac mini with an iTunes library with apple lossless files, and other computers had libraries with mp3s.  If I ever wanted to listen to the apple lossless files, I would just select the shared library that held the apple lossless files, and play them from that shared library.  I'm hoping MC has similar functionality, and I'm just missing something.

Any help or guidance is appreciated.  Thanks in advance.

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: down sampled or transcoded files accessed through shared libraries?
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2014, 08:59:39 pm »

You can set conversion (or not) on the client, when you connect.

« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2014, 09:15:15 pm »