INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Netflix App on Win 8.1 Question  (Read 1485 times)

InflatableMouse

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Netflix App on Win 8.1 Question
« on: April 19, 2014, 02:53:07 pm »

I need to know from some people who use this, is the Netflix app on Win8.1 switching refresh rates based on the content it is playing?

Yesterday I started playing around with it again and I swear it was switching. The OK button on my TV shows the resolution and refresh rate, and for some movie it showed 50hz. For Breaking Bad, I saw 24hz. Default desktop is at 60hz. So, I am pretty sure it was switching. I tested specifically with certain passages because I can't stand the jutter when it doesn't match. Yesterday I was very happy to see the Win8 app does this and playback was very smooth.

Today, I wanted to go ahead and fix audio using either MC's ASIO or loopback but noticed it was no longer switching refresh rates. I tried everything I can think of, but its just not switching anymore. Now, I'm doubting it was doing this yesterday, did I halucinate or what?

InflatableMouse

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Netflix App on Win 8.1 Question
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2014, 06:55:02 am »

I must have been halucinating. I restored a backup from a couple of weeks ago and Netflix isn't switching refresh rates. I don't understand what I have been looking at yesterday, its pretty simple: I start a movie, press OK on my TV and it shows resolution and refresh rate. And its not like 24Hz looks like 60Hz so how I can mess that up I don't know.

Anyway, I contacted Netflix support and they confirmed the app is not currently switching refresh rates based on the content its playing.