INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Newbie / DSD conversion question.....  (Read 3187 times)

Rob50

• Recent member
Newbie / DSD conversion question.....
« on: April 24, 2014, 04:19:26 am »

Hi Guys,

I have recently been converting flac files ( 44.1 ) to DSD ( to play back on my Sony Hi Res Walkman / F886 ) I was thrilled to find out that this conversion was playing back as sampling rate, 2.8224 MHz. ( although, not gapless ?? Is there a way around this gapless issue ? )
I'm aware that there is a higher sampling rate, 5.6448 MHz. Is it possible to convert to this, using jriver ? ( As you may gather, I'm a total novice !....and any help, would be much appreciated !!
( Are the above sampling rates known as DSD64 / DSD128 ? )

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Newbie / DSD conversion question.....
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2014, 04:28:49 am »

Click the "…" button in the conversion window and you will be able to select Double DSD.
Whether the files will play gaplessly depends on the player.

I'm not sure that I would suggest PCM to DSD conversion for a portable device though - it's going to massively inflate the file size for little benefit.

Rob50

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2014, 05:23:56 am »

Click the "…" button

Thank you very much for your reply. Excuse my ignorance, but I'm not sure what that is ? I clicked DSD twice initially, which as I said has converted to 2.8224 MHz ( It would be easier if DOUBLE DSD, e.t.c. was shown in the list....or perhaps it is, and I'm clicking wrongly ! ? )
I know it uses up a hell of a lot of space, but I really love the higher sonic quality. I've been thinking of buying a Sony HAP-S1 ( 500GB )  I'm not sure how many of these files I could fit on that amount of space ??
There's no gapless issue with flac 44.1, but I did get a clicking sound with 192/24 conversion / playback.