INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Create a playback zone that doesnt increase number of plays  (Read 906 times)

dafloydman

• World Citizen

Hi all I have a apparently obscure reason for wanting this .
Is it possible to have a specific zone where the number of plays
remains the same as it was before being played in the said zone.
cheers

Matt

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Create a playback zone that doesnt increase number of plays
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2014, 08:44:55 pm »

No, sorry.
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

leezer3

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2014, 05:55:38 pm »

What exactly are you trying to achieve, and how much manual work are you prepared to put into it?

A current solution requiring manual work would be as follows:
* Before starting a playback session, use the inbuilt tag copy function to copy all current playcounts to a user field. (If you're only using a subset of files, this will obviously be quicker. A few thousand files would be workable, more I don't know)
* After ending the playback session, copy all playcounts back.

There's *probably* a way to script the copying process and zone, but I think that would probably require using MCWS to launch the playback & change the zone.
MrChriz knows a lot more about scripting than I do, so with a little luck he may drop in :)

We may be able to come up with a better solution if you let us know what you're after though. Depending on what you want, this *may* work:
If the files you do not wish the playcount incremented for are uniquely identifiable (Genre, artist etc.), then a calculated field keyed off this is doable, but we really need the details to advise properly.

-Leezer-

dafloydman

• World Citizen
« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2014, 04:13:25 pm »

Hi Leezer.