INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: File Numbers  (Read 2529 times)

MikeO

• Citizen of the Universe
File Numbers
« on: September 25, 2014, 09:11:04 am »

Not strictly a V 20 question as I had the same issue in V19

Is there a max number of files per library , as the file count rises would I expect to see more occurrences of hanging ?

I have been using MC for audio only for a couple of years now , I decided as I bought a new PC with HD graphics to use MC for all media.

I have around 50k files of audio and 25 k files of video . The PC is an i3 with Win 8.1 64 bit and 4gb of RAM

The problem I have is I quite often get a  complete hang in Theatre view when trying to navigate (audio and video), so much so I have to resort to Ctrl Alt Delete to get Task Manager to clear it. I normally re boot the pc at this stage.

I also notice Pending Windows updates makes things worse.

I am now using JRemote almost exclusively for audio navigation and Theatre View for Video with the JRiver HP Remote

I tend to manage my library using my main laptop across wi-fi in the house , using the i3 as a "server". I can't prove it but I get the feeling that copying files from my main laptop to the "server" makes things worse even after the copy has finished?

I have reverted to audio only and the problem seems less obvious, (no thanks to an erratic power supply with loads of outages this last week).

Before I start to weed out oldies and duplicates from my library ,

Am I asking too much of the I3 ?
Would more RAM help?
Is video likely to be worse than audio to navigate.

I have all the media files on 2 External Seagate ( 1 x 2TB, 1 x 4Tb) drives run on USB 3 from 2 ports on the PC

Thanks

Mike

Re: File Numbers
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2014, 09:19:56 am »

Media Center should have no problem handling a library of 75,000 files.