INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Preamp DSP from Mac HDMI out  (Read 3157 times)

captmark

• Recent member
Preamp DSP from Mac HDMI out
« on: November 15, 2014, 03:45:39 am »

I'm new to this so thanks in advance for any support. I'm starting to run the latest JRiver on a 10.7 MacBook Pro with a 5TB external drive with a Thunderbolt to HDMI cable plugged into my Onkyo PRS-C5509 preamp based 5.1 home theater set up (Paradigm Signatures/Sony 65", etc..) .

I have @ 25,000 hi-res stereo files- a combination of hundreds of 24/96 WAV recorded vinyl into Pro Tools, 24/96 & 192 Flacs and several hundred SACD-iso files (2ch and 5.1). I used to burn SACD-r of and play in my Oppo BDP-93. Keyword "used". Thank you auto firmware update!

My "issue": I still want to use the preamp's DSP to process the 2-channel files for effect when randoming all my audio library. It is much better sounding and more versatile than having the JRiver force 5.1 out and checking the create surround effect box in the settings and having to re tune the sub. But the Mac HDMI output needs to be on 24/8ch to make 5.1 files work (downsampled to 176.4) and with that the Onkyo reads "multi-channel" no matter what type of file is playing or whether the DSP Studio is set to "same channels as source" or "5.1". Switching through the Onkyo DSP presets none provide any type of surround output. Switching the Mac HDMI output to 2-ch 24 bit restores the Onkyo's DSP on stereo files but eliminates the 5.1/SACD iso playback (and maybe 192 flac/wav's as well-I haven't checked).