INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?  (Read 2310 times)

CountryBumkin

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« on: November 13, 2014, 02:58:17 pm »

Mojave,
You mentioned in another post that you customized your display in Standard View to show the complete MC version number (such as to show "MC 20.0.38". This is very useful when you have multiple computers running MC and you want to keep them on the same versions (saves time from having to open the Help>About dropdown).

How do you do this customization?
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42053
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2014, 03:18:13 pm »

I'm not mojave, but I can help.

Put [MC.Version] in the text and it'll be replaced with the version.  The trailing zero on the version is going to be removed next build.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

rudyrednose

  • Regular Member
  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
  • nothing more to say...
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #2 on: November 13, 2014, 03:31:44 pm »

That's handy, thank you !
Logged

CountryBumkin

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3352
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #3 on: November 13, 2014, 03:50:07 pm »

Thanks.
I think that feature would be useful for everyone. Maybe the next time Jim asks for a list of "quick enhancements" - I can get that one submitted.  :)
Logged

DoubtingThomas

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 564
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #4 on: November 13, 2014, 03:57:39 pm »

I'm not mojave, but I can help.

Put [MC.Version] in the text and it'll be replaced with the version.  The trailing zero on the version is going to be removed next build.

2.0.33.0 Registered

I'd love to see the word "Registered" removed too.  I suspect when not registered, it says "Trial" or something to indicated it's not a paid version.  But once paid....
Logged

Matt

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 42053
  • Shoes gone again!
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2014, 04:03:02 pm »

Just use Left([MC.Version], 7) if you don't want the word registered.
Logged
Matt Ashland, JRiver Media Center

DoubtingThomas

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 564
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #6 on: November 13, 2014, 04:04:34 pm »

Just use Left([MC.Version], 7) if you don't want the word registered.

Thanks.... works great !
Logged

mojave

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 3732
  • Requires "iTunes or better" so I installed JRiver
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #7 on: November 13, 2014, 05:14:30 pm »

You can also put any text you want in front of it:

JRiver Media Center Left([MC.Version], 7)
Only ~math(175-Mid([mc.version],5,2)) builds until MC21!

JRiver Media Center 20.0.38
Only ~137 Builds Until MC21!
  ;D
Logged

Arindelle

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #8 on: November 14, 2014, 09:47:34 am »

Am I missing something? why so complicated?

Code: [Select]
JRiver Media Center [App Version]

this has always worked for me and never had registered or trailing 0s  ?

Logged

6233638

  • Regular Member
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 5353
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #9 on: November 14, 2014, 09:51:06 am »

I believe [App Version] used to just display "20" rather than "20.0.xx"
And [MC.Version] displayed "20.0.xx.0"
Logged

Arindelle

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2772
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #10 on: November 14, 2014, 09:52:30 am »

I believe [App Version] used to just display "20" rather than "20.0.xx"
And [MC.Version] displayed "20.0.xx.0"

I don't think I changed that since version 15, but hey never really thought about it .. it works though  :D
Logged

~OHM~

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1825
  • "I Don't Play The Music The Music Plays Me"
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #11 on: November 14, 2014, 03:20:55 pm »

I add a nice blue font to compliment the musical note icons!
Logged
“I've Reached A Turning Point In My Life. I Now Realize I Have More Yesterdays Then Tomorrows”

~OHM~

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1825
  • "I Don't Play The Music The Music Plays Me"
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #12 on: November 14, 2014, 03:26:26 pm »

Now if i could just figure out the text on the bottom in standard view, playing a playlist, lists the first song played but then never changes again?
Logged
“I've Reached A Turning Point In My Life. I Now Realize I Have More Yesterdays Then Tomorrows”

DoubtingThomas

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 564
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #13 on: April 26, 2015, 07:57:22 pm »

LOL...

"Left([MC.Version], 7)"

no longer works with 20.0.100

needs to be

"Left([MC.Version], 8)"    // that is an 8 then a right paren

I've switched to [App Version]
Logged

RoderickGI

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8186
Re: Mojave - how do you customize Std View to show full MC Version?
« Reply #14 on: April 27, 2015, 02:42:42 am »

Nice. I've now switched to:

Code: [Select]
removeright([App Name], 3) [App Version]

As [App Name] returns "JRiver Media Center 20" (without quotes), and [App Version] returns "20.0.100", I'm trimming characters from the end of [App Name] to avoid the repeat.

Actually I am removing three characters from [App Name] and then adding in a space so that when MC gets to version 100 this will still work! (Just with an extra space in there.)

To be really correct, the code should trim from the last space in [App Name] to the end, to be future proof and retain a single space. But I leave that to someone else to work out the code.  ;D

I know, I could just put the name in as text, as above, but the name may change one day!
Logged
What specific version of MC you are running:MC27.0.27 @ Oct 27, 2020 and updating regularly Jim!                        MC Release Notes: https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Release_Notes
What OS(s) and Version you are running:     Windows 10 Pro 64bit Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.572).
The JRMark score of the PC with an issue:    JRMark (version 26.0.52 64 bit): 3419
Important relevant info about your environment:     
  Using the HTPC as a MC Server & a Workstation as a MC Client plus some DLNA clients.
  Running JRiver for Android, JRemote2, Gizmo, & MO 4Media on a Sony Xperia XZ Premium Android 9.
  Playing video out to a Sony 65" TV connected via HDMI, playing digital audio out via motherboard sound card, PCIe TV tuner
Pages: [1]   Go Up