INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: How can I control playback and JRiver settings from a different computer?  (Read 4189 times)

jocar37

• Recent member

I'm brand new to JRiver. I am a musician and music lover and have a fairly good stereo system in my living room - Oppo BDP-103, Logitech Squeezebox Touch, Conrad Johnson preamp, Magnepan speakers. I'm in the last steps or reconfiguring my music library to be able to stream everything to my stereo from a computer in the practice room in my basement, where I previously housed a large part of my music library in lossless format, played thru iTunes. 

When my basement computer died, I spent weeks researching how to improve the SQ of my library.  I bought a new computer specifically configured for ripping CDs, downloading and storing music and streaming it to my stereo.  I've got a fair number of 192/24 and 96/24 downloads, and have started exploring DSD.  So I bought a Marantz HD DAC1, which can play these files.  But whereas I previously connected the iTunes library via my home network through the Oppo, the Marantz supports DSD through a specific USB-B port.  Consequently, the wifi connection wouldn't do.  I also had to buy a TrippLite USB cable with a repeater to be able to utilize the full capabilities of the Marantz USB-B port. 

Today I downloaded JRiver to my basement computer, to which I also attached one hard drive with my lossless library and another with my HD library.  I also plan shortly to start to re-rip my CD library to FLAC or WAV.  At least in these early stages, I want to be able to do more than just select tunes from the living room.  I also want to be able to experiment with settings in JRiver to see what sounds the best.