INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Using JRiver on a laptop to play audio files on a PC thru my stereo  (Read 2829 times)

jocar37

• Recent member

I'm new to JRiver and am still trying to figure a lot out. I bought MC 21 and want to use it to play music through my stereo.

I have a PC in my basement that has a ton of high res audio files.  A usb cable connects the PC to a DAC in my living room stereo. While the PC does have internet connection through my home wifi network, for some reason, I can't join this particular PC to my home group. It seems like things would be easy with a homegroup connection.  Maybe not.

I can access the PC's audio files and play them through my stereo via Remote Desktop Connection. But this is a really cludgy way to do it.  Is there a way I can set up JRiver on my laptop to play the basement audio files through my stereo without using Remote Desktop Connnection?

Sorry if this has been addressed before.  I tried finding some help on my own, but nothing I saw was really on point.  Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

BryanC

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe

blgentry

Re: Using JRiver on a laptop to play audio files on a PC thru my stereo
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2015, 10:40:07 pm »

Which computer has JRiver installed? Basement PC or Laptop? Both?

If you have a direct connection from basement PC to DAC and DAC to stereo, I think you have the *classic* use case of remote control via one of the JRiver apps.  Gizmo (for android for free) or JRemote (For iOS or Android for about $10).  JRemote gets rave reviews, but I haven't personally seen it in action.  I've used Gizmo on an Android phone and it was pretty good. 

I think a tablet (like an ipad) would be ideal for this kind of thing myself.  A touch screen interface to all of your music, right in your lap.