INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Tag manipulation with expression language  (Read 5269 times)

jacobacci

• Galactic Citizen
Tag manipulation with expression language
« on: August 24, 2015, 05:42:44 am »

Hi all,
I am new to using the expression language and I'm looking for some pointers to shorten the learning curve.
I have converted all my SACD ISOs to PCM. MC tags the PCM files with the tags the ISOs have in the library. This means the files show up as duplicates in MC, as artist, album, title etc. are identical.
I would like to add the letters "DS" (as in down sampled) to the album tag of the PCM files. My ISO album tags are "D_xxxxxxx". As I want to be able to run the script also after some of the files already have the DS prefix, I need to make the addition conditional. Functionally the script should do the following

- See if the album Tag of the file starts with D_
- if yes, add DS in front of it
- if not, do nothing
- do this for all files in a particular directory

How do I best go about doing this? I have read that I can add an expression column to the view of the folder where the files reside. Is this the best way to do this?

Thanks a lot

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe
Re: Tag manipulation with expression language
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2015, 09:27:32 am »

First you'll want to be able to select the group or groups of files you want to operate on.  Personally, I would use the Audio > Files view for this.  You can choose a directory from the Location pane.  You can even make it a parent directory if you have lots of these to do.  Next, I'd use the File Type pane to remove all SACD files.  Select the file type(s) that you want to rename and of course leave out SACD so it doesn't get selected.