INTERACT FORUM

More => Old Versions => JRiver Media Center 30 for Linux => Topic started by: cochinada on February 02, 2024, 11:56:35 am

Title: Theater View is not showing some albums seen on Standard View
Post by: cochinada on February 02, 2024, 11:56:35 am
Hello good people!

I know there is a different algorithm used for these two views but I never found it explained in these forums nor the wiki.

Albums have similar structure on disc, that is, same level of subfolders.
My classical albums all share this starting path "/media/joaquim/Multimedia1/Musica/Classica/ ..."
Then it comes the next sub-path that I've tagged as [File Group Location], e.g., "Various Composers", A-D, E-M and N-Z.
Next is the Name of the Album or Compilation, and depending if it is a multiple CD, there will be another level like CD1, CD2, ... until finally all the tracks!

I'm struggling with two different issues:

1)
These two Albums (both double CDs) are not seen:
/media/joaquim/Multimedia1/Musica/Classica/A-D/Brahms/String Quartets, Piano Quintet/CD1
/media/joaquim/Multimedia1/Musica/Classica/A-D/Brahms/String Quartets, Piano Quintet/CD2
/media/joaquim/Multimedia1/Musica/Classica/A-D/Brahms/Ein Deutsches Requiem [Furtwangler]/CD1
/media/joaquim/Multimedia1/Musica/Classica/A-D/Brahms/Ein Deutsches Requiem [Furtwangler]/CD2


However, I can see ALL CDs belonging to The Masterworks:
/media/joaquim/Multimedia1/Musica/Classica/A-D/Brahms/The Masterworks/CD1
/media/joaquim/Multimedia1/Musica/Classica/A-D/Brahms/The Masterworks/CD2
...
/media/joaquim/Multimedia1/Musica/Classica/A-D/Brahms/The Masterworks/CD40


You can see they share the same path until the 2nd last one -> "/media/joaquim/Multimedia1/Musica/Classica/A-D/Brahms/"

I'm using this Expression on Theater View at the 3rd level:

if(IsEqual([File Group Location], Various Composers, 8 ),

if(IsEmpty([Disc #]), filefolder(),
if(IsEqual(filefolder(,3 ), Various Composers, 8 ),
filefolder(,1), filefolder())),

if(IsEmpty([Disc #]), [Album],
if(IsEqual(filefolder(,2 ), [Composer], 8 ),
filefolder(,1), filefolder()))
)

This is what I get...

Theater View:
(https://i.ibb.co/ZVCDt3n/theater-view.jpg) (https://ibb.co/ZVCDt3n)

Standard View:
https://ibb.co/nzpfYMt (https://ibb.co/nzpfYMt)


NOTEs:
They all have Disc# defined (not empty).
if(IsEqual([File Group Location], Various Composers, 8 ), -> FALSE
meaning I expect the code to jump to...

if(IsEmpty([Disc #]), [Album], -> the missing albums have Disc# so this is FALSE!
if(IsEqual(filefolder(,2 ), [Composer], 8 ), -> jumps to this test and two levels to the left is indeed the Composer!
filefolder(,1 ), filefolder())) -> should display filefolder(,1 ) which is for instance "Ein Deutsches Requiem [Furtwangler]" but this Album never shows in Theater View, although it shows in the Classic one :(



2)
As the View shows, it skips "The Masterworks" and immediately shows CD1, CD2...CD40.


BTW, my previous two rules on Theater View are these:

1 File Group Location

2 Expression

if(IsEqual([File Group Location], Various Composers, 8 ),

if(IsEmpty([Disc #]), filefolder(),
if(IsEqual(filefolder(,3 ), Various Composers, 8 ),
filefolder(,2), filefolder(,1 ))),

Extract(6, Mid([FileName (path)], 46, -1 ), //, //)  -> this path position will point to the Name of the Album/Compilation
)
Title: Re: Theater View is not showing some albums seen on Standard View
Post by: cochinada on February 02, 2024, 04:30:23 pm
I found the error!

I was actually using a different expression between the two views.

if(IsEqual([File Group Location], Various Composers, 8 ),

if(IsEmpty([Disc #]), filefolder(),
if(IsEqual(filefolder(,3), Various Composers, 8 ),
filefolder(,1), filefolder())),

if(IsEmpty([Disc #]), [Album],
if(IsEqual(filefolder(,2), [Composer], 8 ),
filefolder(,1), filefolder()))

vs.

if(IsEqual([File Group Location], Various Composers, 8 ),

if(IsEmpty([Disc #]), filefolder(),
if(IsEqual(filefolder(,3), Various Composers, 8 ),
filefolder(,1), filefolder())),

if(!IsEmpty([Disc #]), [Album],
if(IsEqual(filefolder(,2), [Composer], 8 ),
filefolder(,1), filefolder()))

But Ihave a question:
How can I change the number of lines of the thumbnails in Theater View?
Title: Re: Theater View is not showing some albums seen on Standard View
Post by: lepa on February 02, 2024, 05:21:54 pm
But Ihave a question:
How can I change the number of lines of the thumbnails in Theater View?
Would be cool if it could be done like with standard view thumbnails but you can't
Title: Re: Theater View is not showing some albums seen on Standard View
Post by: cochinada on February 03, 2024, 06:13:47 am
Yeah, but it means it is hard coded and displays only one line?
For classical albums that's not cool as in most cases it's not clear what the thumbnail means due to the length of the album titles.
Title: Re: Theater View is not showing some albums seen on Standard View
Post by: lepa on February 03, 2024, 06:33:20 am
it means it will show maximum of two lines
Title: Re: Theater View is not showing some albums seen on Standard View
Post by: cochinada on February 03, 2024, 07:41:03 am
I see. Well that could be a feature request for next versions together with this other one that I was imagining it would be incredibly cool: when hovering and selecting a thumbnail after 1s or even less, the same icon would be magnified allowing a better glimpse of what it was.

I also don't understand why some thumbnails show more than one ("The Masterworks...") and some only one ("String Quartets...") when these two both have more than one CD inside.
What's the criteria for showing more than one?

(https://i.ibb.co/cxZdYTR/2cds.jpg) (https://ibb.co/Tr75WhJ)
Title: Re: Theater View is not showing some albums seen on Standard View
Post by: lepa on February 03, 2024, 09:02:54 am
I guess this is now a standard view? There you can force to use x rows.
Title: Re: Theater View is not showing some albums seen on Standard View
Post by: cochinada on February 03, 2024, 09:10:22 am
Yes, I know how to define the number of rows in Standard View but my question is different now.
Those two albums I marked in red have more than one CD inside.
However, the 1st one only shows one Thumbnail while the 2nd one shows multiple. Why?
BTW, it is the same in both views.