INTERACT FORUM

More => Old Versions => Media Center 14 (Development Ended) => Topic started by: scm on October 26, 2009, 01:36:33 pm

Title: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on October 26, 2009, 01:36:33 pm
What do I need to do first to get started customizing my own commands for my remote control, etc.?

I found the document for MC Core Commands here http://wiki.jrmediacenter.com/index.php/Media_Center_Core_Commands

But I don't know enough to even know how to use them.  Is there a tutorial on how to get started learning about how to do this?
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: Matt on October 26, 2009, 01:49:15 pm
Are you using the remote control features built into Media Center in Options > Remote Control?

If so, click "Commands" on that dialog to configure custom remote commands.
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: JimH on October 26, 2009, 01:50:24 pm
In MC's options for the Remote, you can use the "Commands" section to add some of the things MC does.

More details about what you want to do might help.
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on October 27, 2009, 12:42:25 pm
I'm doing preliminary research so that when I buy my remote I make the right choice.

I'm about to purchase the Media Center Remote for $35, so I wanted to know how to:

1. rate songs on the fly 1 to 5 stars
2. change the Player > Playback Options > Preview Mode.  more specifically, I would usually toggle between "Play Entire Song" and "Play 2 min Preview (from 30 seconds in)"


Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: JimH on October 27, 2009, 12:56:33 pm
Take a look at the list of commands under Tools/Options/Remote/Commands.  That's what is possible to add to the standard programming of the remote.
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on October 27, 2009, 03:47:07 pm
Thanks so much Jim.  I'm ordering my Media Center Remote tomorrow.
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: JimH on October 27, 2009, 03:48:16 pm
Thanks!
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on November 03, 2009, 09:35:31 am
Ok I've got my Media Center Remote for $35 today, and it works fine for normal commands just by plugging it in.  No installation or drivers, I like that!

However, I'm trying to add some custom commands by clicking Add, under Tools>Options>Remote Control>Commands.

But it only lets me select from a dropdown of current basic commands.  It doesn't let me enter my own parameter or command name.

How do I add a custom command?  Specifically I want to rate the current song 1 to 5 stars "10023   MCC_SET_CURRENTLY_PLAYING_RATING   int nRating (0 means ?)"
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: JimH on November 03, 2009, 09:44:01 am
You can add a custom command in the same place.  Picture attached.
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on November 03, 2009, 10:33:26 am
Right, then that brings up the Edit Remote Command dialogue.

I click Add Command, but it only lets me choose from preprogrammed commands. 

I know the parameter for rating is 10023, and for preview mode is 10031.

I know variables must be passed for these commands to be valid.

I'm not at all able to progress past this step.  How do I do it?

Thanks so much for your time.
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on November 28, 2009, 11:36:28 am
What do I do after I click Custom?
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: Matt on November 28, 2009, 02:13:55 pm
To post a custom command, perhaps you could run MC14.exe /MCC [Command Code],[Parameter]

The remote system lets you run command line programs.
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on November 29, 2009, 04:55:12 pm
Thanks.  I got it to work.  I didn't realize I had to go to the system32 directory to find MC14.exe.

The one thing I can't figure out how to do is set the Preview Mode to "Play Entire Song"

The command is /MCC 10031,[DurationSeconds],[StartSeconds]

so I tried /MCC 10031,99999,0 but the "99999" is messing it up.  What should I put instead to communicate "entire length of song"?
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on November 29, 2009, 05:09:57 pm
Also, it is not starting at 0 seconds in, it starts at 24 seconds in, even though I put 0 in the last field.

Thanks.
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on November 29, 2009, 07:21:54 pm
Actually, now that I really listen, it's not picking up the nStartSeconds variable at all.  If anyone knows what's wrong with my formatting please let me know.  All the other commands I'm programming are working fine.
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on December 04, 2009, 12:20:02 pm
Can anyone see if this is a bug or if I am formatting my command wrong?  Thanks so much!
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: gappie on December 04, 2009, 04:08:22 pm
Thanks.  I got it to work.  I didn't realize I had to go to the system32 directory to find MC14.exe.

The one thing I can't figure out how to do is set the Preview Mode to "Play Entire Song"

The command is /MCC 10031,[DurationSeconds],[StartSeconds]

so I tried /MCC 10031,99999,0 but the "99999" is messing it up.  What should I put instead to communicate "entire length of song"?
i played around with a bit. first you dont have to go to the system 32 dir, just use mc14.exe, windows 'knows' where to find it. you really want to play the whole song in preview mode? if so, why? would sending a standard play command not be enough to play the song from start to end? mc14.exe /mcc 10000,0
i tried 5000 for the duration, wich seems enough for most songs, maybe 99999 is a bit overdone  ? ? it seems to start at 0 for me when i say so.

 :)
gab
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on May 04, 2010, 11:24:16 pm
Yes I go to Options > Remote Control > Commands > Add > Custom... > Add Run

Then in Executable Filename I put mc14.exe
In parameters I put /mcc 10023, 120, 30

hoping it will play 120 seconds of the song but starting at the 30 second mark.

I name the command and push ok, then I select my command from the list and click Start Learning, then click the button on the remote I want to trigger this.

When I trigger this while a song is playing it restarts from the beginning, not 30 seconds in.  However, it does only play 120 seconds.

What do I need to do to start the song 30 seconds in?
Title: Re: How do I learn to "Post a WM_MC_COMMAND based message to the MC frame"
Post by: scm on May 04, 2010, 11:36:00 pm
Basically I don't fully understand this:

low 12 bits: int nDurationSeconds, high 12 bits: int nStartSeconds

Can someone explain?

It's from the Media Center Core Commands in the wiki