INTERACT FORUM

More => Old Versions => JRiver Media Center 31 for Mac => Topic started by: HaWi on October 14, 2023, 02:04:06 pm

Title: Help with Smart List
Post by: HaWi on October 14, 2023, 02:04:06 pm
I am trying to build a Smart List that contains the following:

All Schubert compositions whose Work_Type field contains either Solo Piano OR Piano Duet

I have tried to build the Smart List as follows using the suggested brackets (see attachement):

([Media Type is  Audio                        AND    Composer contains Schubert            AND     Work_Type contains Solo Piano])        OR    (Work_Type contains Piano Duet)

However, this yields an empty list. When I remove the last rule (about the Piano Duet) I get the correct list of Solo Piano Pieces. Is there something not working with the brackets? They also revert to a completely different set when I close the list an re-open.

Many thanks for any help!
Title: Re: Help with Smart List
Post by: marko on October 14, 2023, 03:35:09 pm
"AND" is always implied by default, so you don't need the square brackets here. "A OR B" need to be wrapped in parenthesis, like so: (A OR B)
Try:
Code: [Select]
[Media Type]=[Audio] [Composer]="Schubert" ([Work_Type]="Solo Piano" OR [Work_Type]="Piano Duet")
Copy the code, press the "import/export" button on the edit smartlist dialogue, delete what's there, paste, and ok your way out. Better now?
Title: Re: Help with Smart List
Post by: HaWi on October 16, 2023, 10:24:30 am
"AND" is always implied by default, so you don't need the square brackets here. "A OR B" need to be wrapped in parenthesis, like so: (A OR B)
Try:
Code: [Select]
[Media Type]=[Audio] [Composer]="Schubert" ([Work_Type]="Solo Piano" OR [Work_Type]="Piano Duet")
Copy the code, press the "import/export" button on the edit smartlist dialogue, delete what's there, paste, and ok your way out. Better now?

Thank you so much, Marko, I got it to work.
Interestingly, after I pasted the code, everything was fine with the list but the editing window had an empty line, no big deal. Then, I wanted to add the modifier, Remove duplicates of [Composition], and that resulted in only the Piano Duets showing up in the list. Then I modified the empty row to [Work_Type] contains Solo Piano and the list appeared perfectly.
Just for my education, I think I understand how to build the code for Rules. How do I add Modifications to the Results in code form?

Again, many, many thanks, I really appreciate your help!

EDIT:
One more thing: Even though I now have all the tracks that I expect in the SmartList, there is one additional outlier (see attachment), specifically, a track that does not fulfill the Rules, i.e. is not by Schubert (but by Prokofiev) and I have emptied the Work_Type field (which was indeed Solo Piano).
The Smartlist is defined by
[Media Type]=[Audio] -[Composer]="Prokofiev" [Composer]="Schubert" ([Work_Type]="Solo Piano" or [Work_Type]="Piano Duet") ~nodup=[Composition]
Any idea why that is? I am baffled.