INTERACT FORUM

More => Old Versions => Media Center 11 (Development Ended) => Topic started by: Luigi1943 on January 11, 2006, 05:17:58 am

Title: Track Info: is it a bug?
Post by: Luigi1943 on January 11, 2006, 05:17:58 am
I've posted the following help request in the developer forum, but unfortunately I've not received a solution for my dumb problem. I've now tried also with MC11, but the result is the same: the trackinfo dll does not translate "TrackInfo_Insert(Composer)", but leaves it as it is.
Thanks for any help from this forum.
Luigi

Posted by: Luigi1943  Posted on: January 08, 2006, 04:32:09 PM 
Insert Quote 
I'm just starting to approach developing, and I've not been able to display the Composer field by changing in the existing Track Info (DJ). the Genre Field with the Composer Field: no success.
It was Ok when I replaced Genre with Comment.
What am I missing?
Tks for any help
I'm using MC10
Luigi
Tks for the answers, however "TrackInfo_Insert(Composer)" is just what I've tried to use without success (while, for instance, "TrackInfo_Insert(Comment)" works).
In addition I don't understand how should I use "#define MF_COMPOSER            _T("Composer")".
Any other hint?
Tks
Luigi 
Posted by: Alex B  Posted on: January 10, 2006, 12:42:06 PM 
Insert Quote 
Could this do it?

Quote from:
http://www.jrmediacenter.com/DevZone/Track%20Info.html  >
Insert Functions  >
TrackInfo_Insert(field name)  >
http://www.jrmediacenter.com/DevZone/MJFields.h  >


Quote
#define MF_COMPOSER            _T("Composer")
Posted by: Mr ChriZ  Posted on: January 10, 2006, 12:28:06 PM 
Insert Quote 
Looking here
http://www.jrmediacenter.com/DevZone/Track%20Info.html

Composer is not available :-S
 
Title: Re: Track Info (please help a beginner)
Post by: Alex B on January 11, 2006, 06:28:56 am
Strange that TrackInfo_Insert(Composer) does not work.

As a test I made this templete:

Code: [Select]
<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Language" content="en-us">
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<title>Composer</title>
</head>
<body>
  <b>Title: </b>TRACKINFO_INSERT_TITLE<br>
  <b>Name: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Name)<br>
  <b>Filename: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Filename)<br>
  <b>Compression: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Compression)<br>
  <b>Image File: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Image File)<br>
  <b>Composer: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Composer)<br>
  <b>Date Created: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Date Created)
</body>
</html>

The other fields work, but not Composer. Also, TRACKINFO_INSERT_TITLE and TrackInfo_Insert(Name) can both be used.
Title: Re: Track Info (please help a beginner)
Post by: Luigi1943 on January 11, 2006, 07:28:02 am
Not only Composer doesn't work. I've also tried CUSTOM1, which doesn't work.
Tks, Alex
Luigi
Title: Re: Track Info: is it a bug?
Post by: Luigi1943 on January 17, 2006, 03:07:13 am
The test made by Alex B shows that the problem of not showing Composer and other fields such as Custom 1 (all extended fields???) is possibly a bug.
Is there any plan to correct it?
Thanks
Luigi
Title: Re: Track Info: is it a bug?
Post by: tgack on January 18, 2006, 09:17:32 pm
What version of ID3 have you used to tag your files?  I have been using this functionality for a while to display the composer and it still works fine for me.

For example, I have just modified the index.html under ...Visualizations\Track Info\DJ to include the following:

              <tr>
                <td width="25%" valign="top"><font class="text1">Composer:</font></td>
                <td width="75%">
              <font class="text2">TrackInfo_Insert(Composer)</font></td>
              </tr>     

This works fine to display the composer tag in all of my classical music mp3's (using ID3v2.3)
Title: Re: Track Info: is it a bug?
Post by: Luigi1943 on January 19, 2006, 02:33:40 am
I don't know what version of ID3 I'm using: I do all my tagging with Media Center 10 and have not been able to find an option to to select the version of ID3.

As a quick test I've modified DJ to display the composer in place of the Artist and the result is:
Title:  Mozart-Idomeneo2-20-Se il padre perdei
Artist: TRACKINFO_INSERT(Composer)
Album: Idomeneo, re di Creta
Year: 1991
Genre: Opera



Please HELP!
Luigi
Title: Re: Track Info: is it a bug?
Post by: Alex B on January 29, 2006, 03:54:45 pm
It seems the problem is fixed. I tried this templete with MC11.1.108:

Code: [Select]
<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Language" content="en-us">
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=windows-1252">
<title>Composer</title>
</head>
<body>
  <b>Artist: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Artist)<br>
  <b>Album: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Album)<br>
  <b>Name: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Name)<br>
  <b>Composer: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Composer)<br>
  <b>Date: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Date)<br>
  <b>Filename: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Filename)<br>
  <b>Date Created: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Date Created)<br>
  <b>Compression: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Compression)<br>
  <b>Lossless Archived: </b>TrackInfo_Insert(Lossless Archived)<br>
</body>

The display looks now like this:

Artist: Aldo Ciccolini
Album: Erik Satie - Piano Works
Name: Sports Et Divertissements, Le Reveil de la Mariee
Composer: Eric Satie
Date: 1992
Filename: X:\Aldo Ciccolini\Eric Satie - Piano Works\CD2 - 08 - Sports Et Divertissements, Le Reveil de la Mariee.mp3
Date Created: 11.10.2003 19:13
Compression: VBR (MPEG-1 Layer 3)
Lossless Archived: ape & cue


BTW, the tag version doesn't matter. The info comes from the database.
Title: Re: Track Info: is it a bug?
Post by: Luigi1943 on January 29, 2006, 05:26:11 pm
I've tried your script in MC10.... and it works!!!!!!!!!
Thanks, Alex, I'm so happy!
Title: Re: Track Info: is it a bug?
Post by: Luigi1943 on January 29, 2006, 05:34:11 pm
Why am I happy? I have a very large classical music collection and 1338 composers are present....
Of course I can't remember who those 1338 composers are, and I'm going to use the composer tag to point to a biography data base, in order to show, when playing something, who the composer was...
I've not digitalized yet the biographies, but obviously I didn't want to store the biography of Mozart in my 1320 Mozart files, but store it only once!
Tks again, Alex
Title: Re: Track Info: is it a bug?
Post by: ThoBar on May 19, 2006, 02:38:39 am
This sounds like a great approach! I would love to see the finished product.
Title: Re: Track Info: is it a bug?
Post by: Luigi1943 on May 19, 2006, 12:40:39 pm
This sounds like a great approach! I would love to see the finished product.

I would either... unfortunately I couldn't work on my project yet , because my sail skipper activity is absorbing my time. But the idea is still one that I would like to work on, also because in the meanwhile my classical music collection is growing: for instance my Mozart files are now 1553....
When I'll have something new to communicate I'll post a message on the board.
Thanks, confishy, for the kind words
Luigi
non-solo-vela@libero.it