INTERACT FORUM

Windows => Third Party Plug-ins, Programs, and Skins => Topic started by: hit_ny on February 27, 2008, 12:32:15 pm

Title: Auto Hotkey
Post by: hit_ny on February 27, 2008, 12:32:15 pm
Anyone tried it (http://www.autohotkey.com/) with MC ?
Title: Re: Auto Hotkey
Post by: scm on October 02, 2008, 11:47:35 am
ya!

I wouldn't use it without it.

Here's what I programmed!

^+m::Send {Volume_Mute}
^+.::Send {Volume_Up}
^+,::Send {Volume_Down}
^+]::
^+n::Send {Media_Next}
^+[::
^+b::Send {Media_Prev}
^+o::Send {Media_Stop}
^+p::
^+/::Send {Media_Play_Pause}


That sets commands for holding down CTRL, SHIFT, then a key.  So CTRL+SHIFT+, makes the system volume go up 5% whether u are in the program or not.  It's easy to remember cuz it's also the > key.  Volume up, get it?  Plus it's near CTRL and SHIFT.

The rest you can piece together.  I use these commands all the time so I never need to worry about going back into the MC window to navigate songs, mute, or change volume.

Oh, also, this one:

^+p::
^+/::Send {Media_Play_Pause}

means I'm assigning the PLAY/PAUSE command to 2 keys, the P key and the / key. 

MC native commands still work while u are in the window, like CTRL+M will mute.  But now CTRL+SHIFT+M will mute also, whether in the window or not.  Use it guys!

Title: Re: Auto Hotkey
Post by: hit_ny on October 02, 2008, 12:01:56 pm
I wished i discovered it earlier, would have save many a heated moment. It's free and maybe the poorman's 'Girder' but does what i required.

Very good for automating settings in dialogs, if your workflow repetitively requires it.

Got it automatically filling the MPL dialog to my specs and saving it in the album's folder with one click.

Fixed a long standing grouse with assigning cover art, one click to get to the album directory, enter, done!
tho this could be even faster with an event call to the cover art dialog

Incredible time saver  :o
Title: Re: Auto Hotkey
Post by: e-head on October 31, 2008, 02:00:30 pm
Any way to rate the currently playing track with this?

Does Auto Hotkey use the Media Center Core Commands?

I looked over the list and couldn't find anything for rating the currently playing track.
Title: Re: Auto Hotkey
Post by: zxsix on October 31, 2008, 02:41:09 pm
It could do ratings.
Have it do:
Run MC13.EXE /MCC 10023,5
that will set currently playing track to 5-star rating.  Substitute the appropriate number between 0 and 5 for the rating you want.

I have a whole script I wrote where I do a shift-ctrl-t.
It then handles importing of new songs for me.  All the things I would do manually....
Clean Tag Properties
Rename files from tags
Get lyrics
Get cover art
analyze audio
etc.
Title: Re: Auto Hotkey
Post by: jmone on October 31, 2008, 03:16:08 pm
FYI I use a script to get psuedo Blu-ray integration http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=43879.0
Title: Re: Auto Hotkey
Post by: e-head on October 31, 2008, 07:11:11 pm
Thanks for the tip. This will be really handy for rating my music.
Title: Re: Auto Hotkey
Post by: krosenqu on November 11, 2008, 02:47:35 am
ya!

I wouldn't use it without it.

Here's what I programmed!

^+m::Send {Volume_Mute}
^+.::Send {Volume_Up}
^+,::Send {Volume_Down}
^+]::
^+n::Send {Media_Next}
^+[::
^+b::Send {Media_Prev}
^+o::Send {Media_Stop}
^+p::
^+/::Send {Media_Play_Pause}


That sets commands for holding down CTRL, SHIFT, then a key.  So CTRL+SHIFT+, makes the system volume go up 5% whether u are in the program or not.  It's easy to remember cuz it's also the > key.  Volume up, get it?  Plus it's near CTRL and SHIFT.

The rest you can piece together.  I use these commands all the time so I never need to worry about going back into the MC window to navigate songs, mute, or change volume.

Oh, also, this one:

^+p::
^+/::Send {Media_Play_Pause}

means I'm assigning the PLAY/PAUSE command to 2 keys, the P key and the / key. 

MC native commands still work while u are in the window, like CTRL+M will mute.  But now CTRL+SHIFT+M will mute also, whether in the window or not.  Use it guys!



Thank you!  Great stuff!
Title: Re: Auto Hotkey
Post by: hit_ny on May 14, 2009, 02:39:49 pm
It could do ratings.
Have it do:
Run MC13.EXE /MCC 10023,5
that will set currently playing track to 5-star rating.  Substitute the appropriate number between 0 and 5 for the rating you want.

You can do this much faster instead with

PostMessage, 0x83E8, 10023, 1, , Media Center     //sets rating to 1
PostMessage, 0x83E8, 10023, 5, , Media Center     //sets rating to 5

The 0x83E8 is WM_MC_COMMAND = 33768

In this way you can call any MCC command, just substitute the wparam, lparam as required :)
Title: Re: Auto Hotkey
Post by: StFeder on May 14, 2009, 05:27:34 pm
You can now do all this using a out-of-the-box feature: just edit the resource.xml to get user shortcuts. I think it's even more flexible for some situations...

For detail information about this useful feature:
http://wiki.jrmediacenter.com/index.php/User_Defined_Global_Keyboard_Shortcuts (http://wiki.jrmediacenter.com/index.php/User_Defined_Global_Keyboard_Shortcuts)
Title: Re: Auto Hotkey
Post by: hit_ny on May 15, 2009, 02:16:32 pm
Yes, but that will only call the MCC command, the idea with AHK is to then do something with a dialog. In this way you can automate steps in the workflow.

A simple example is if you want to save the current PN to mpl. I do this regularly so i don't lose my PN by accident. To do it manually you would File->Export Playlist, then select MPL, then set output range to all and finally click ok.

With an AHK script its just a button on the windows task bar, one click and you're done :)