INTERACT FORUM

More => Old Versions => Media Center 13 (Development Ended) => Topic started by: BonkLord on July 16, 2009, 10:45:14 pm

Title: Adding New Links
Post by: BonkLord on July 16, 2009, 10:45:14 pm
Hey, i came across this cool site,

http://www.songmeanings.net/

Just wanted some help in adding it to the links bar... Is this possible?? Basically i want to search the currently playing song... And also while we're at it, a link to http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/ ?  ;D

Thanks in advance...  :)
Title: Re: Adding New Links
Post by: Matt on July 16, 2009, 10:54:16 pm
Right-click the link bar and pick Customize Links...
Title: Re: Adding New Links
Post by: BonkLord on July 16, 2009, 11:20:04 pm
It doesn't save... :-\ i added all the info, but it doesn't show on the link bar... and then when i go to 'customize links' again none of the info i added is there...  :-\
Title: Re: Adding New Links
Post by: marko on July 17, 2009, 01:34:44 am
It doesn't save... :-\ i added all the info, but it doesn't show on the link bar... and then when i go to 'customize links' again none of the info i added is there...  :-\
Maybe some of the data entered was invalid? I just added it to my links bar and it saved and works reasonably well.

You need to format the "Search URL" to match the format accepted by the website. Note that songmeanings.net searches all words in any order, so, to get it to search a phrase, it needs quotes, and that spaces need to be converted to plusses (+).

Try the following:
Code: [Select]
<Link version="1.1">
<Item Name="Name">Song Meanings</Item>
<Item Name="Filter">[Media Type]=[Audio]</Item>
<Item Name="Action">1</Item>
<Item Name="Base URL">http://www.songmeanings.net/</Item>
<Item Name="Search URL">http:////www.songmeanings.net//query//?q/=%22replace([name],/ ,+)%22&amp;type=songs&amp;page=1&amp;start=0&amp;mm=1&amp;pp=20&amp;b=Search</Item>
</Link>


Does that work for you?

-marko.
Title: Re: Adding New Links
Post by: BonkLord on July 17, 2009, 03:01:33 am
No still doesn't work...  :-\ when i copied the text from the code you gave, and clicked 'paste from clipboard', it said "Clipboard does not contain a valid link".

So i just added in the data manually, but with the same result i got earlier...  :-\

Thanks for the try though...  :) any other ideas???
Title: Re: Adding New Links
Post by: JimH on July 17, 2009, 05:58:46 am
Same problem? (http://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=52947.msg360835#msg360835)
Title: Re: Adding New Links
Post by: BonkLord on July 17, 2009, 06:21:41 am
Nope... Using just one machine...  :-\ not using library server... just normal playback
Title: Re: Adding New Links
Post by: BonkLord on July 20, 2009, 04:35:22 am
AH! wierd! randomly tried it again and now it works fine...  ;D

thanks for all the help...  :D just ONE more thing though, would really appreciate it if someone could help me with adding a link to www.ultimate-guitar.com... the whole "different search methods for different sites" has me flabbergasted!  :-\

Thanks again... :)
Title: Re: Adding New Links
Post by: marko on July 20, 2009, 07:57:51 am
Strange... but great that it's working now at least....

This should give you a song name search, in external browser, on U-G.com....

Code: [Select]
<Link version="1.1">
<Item Name="Name">U-G</Item>
<Item Name="Filter">[Media Type]=[Audio]</Item>
<Item Name="Action">1</Item>
<Item Name="Base URL">http://www.ultimate-guitar.com/</Item>
<Item Name="Search URL">http:////www.ultimate-guitar.com//search.php?s/=replace([name],/ ,+)&amp;w=songs</Item>
</Link>
Same as before, copy the contents of the code box above, open link manager, click the add button, click the paste button, click the OK button.

Enjoy :)

-marko.
Title: Re: Adding New Links
Post by: BonkLord on July 22, 2009, 10:36:16 pm
Great! Thanks a million!!  :D allthough on some odd occassions the links dont show...  :-\ but if i restart the program it works... no idea why this is... using build .172... And i also get an error message sometimes and i have to shut the program down...  :-\

And also for some reason songmeanings doesn't open in media center itself... thats not a big problem for me, but it would be cool if i could get it to do that... The setting selected is 'open in program' so something's not right somewhere...  :-\

Thanks for the help Marko...  :)