INTERACT FORUM

More => Old Versions => Media Center 15 (Development Ended) => Topic started by: eastons on August 21, 2010, 12:41:48 am

Title: Command line automation errors
Post by: eastons on August 21, 2010, 12:41:48 am
When I attempt a simple

C:\Users\#####>mc15 /play C:\Users\Public\Music\Sample Music\kalimba.mp3|Zo
ne=2

I get back:

'Zone' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

is | not the current deliminator?
Title: Re: Command line automation errors
Post by: gappie on August 22, 2010, 06:21:03 pm
When I attempt a simple

C:\Users\#####>mc15 /play C:\Users\Public\Music\Sample Music\kalimba.mp3|Zo
ne=2

I get back:

'Zone' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

is | not the current deliminator?

from what are you sending the command?
first it should not be
C:\Users\#####>mc15
the mc15.exe file resides in the system 32 folder.. and widows knows.  8)
so:
mc15.exe /play C:\Users\Public\Music\Sample Music\kalimba.mp3|Zone=2
could work
but depending on the program it could nee some extra """ or \\\

 :)
gab
Title: Re: Command line automation errors
Post by: eastons on August 23, 2010, 09:42:08 am
Oh yea I included the "c:\blablabal" to kinda set the mood for a command line question.

mc15 /play C:\Users\Public\Music\Sample Music\kalimba.mp3       works just fine without any extra escape characters its only when I attach the | that I get the error.

I verified this also happens when doing this call through a Shell in .net.

ohhhhh I just dawned on me that I may need to escape the '|'    as \174. I'll give that a try when I get home from work.

Title: Re: Command line automation errors
Post by: eastons on August 25, 2010, 08:22:48 am
Nope I tried several variations of the escape codes for |.  Anyone have ideas or is this just broken atm?
Title: Re: Command line automation errors
Post by: JimH on August 25, 2010, 08:30:18 am
You may need to place quotes around the command or part of it.

Being specific about what you're doing will help others understand or test.  Show the entire command.
Title: Re: Command line automation errors
Post by: gappie on August 25, 2010, 09:25:45 am
Nope I tried several variations of the escape codes for |.  Anyone have ideas or is this just broken atm?
no, its not broken atm, for me that is.
i send a command like that using lua in girder. i just copy/paste it in a bat file.
this works.. sending it also to the right zone:
mc15.exe "/PlayReplace TREEPATH=Playlists\\Remote\\WholeAlbum|zone=0"

so, maybe try something like that. or indeed post exactly what you do.

 :)
gab

edit: i did some more testing with a bat and an mp3.. this works:
mc15.exe "/play D:\GoodMoodBadVibe.mp3|zone=3"
so the double \\ is only needed when sending it inside the tree of mc or maybe residue of ages ago when i made that command.. something that still works none the less.
Title: Re: Command line automation errors
Post by: eastons on August 25, 2010, 03:10:20 pm
Wrapping in quotes works. Thanks Gappie and JimH.

Long write up, Ive made some really simple inwall touchscreens to control each zone. They send a simple serial command to my pc. I'm currently writing a simple VB.net program to listen and run appropriate scripts.

I found the command line interface keeps things much less obfuscated in my code then the COM.


the Command line call to play a file is like:
mc15.exe /play C:\Users\Public\Music\Sample Music\kalimba.mp3|Zone=2

you need to wrap the arguments in quotes such as
mc15.exe "/play C:\Users\Public\Music\Sample Music\kalimba.mp3|Zone=2"



my code now reads

Shell("mc15.exe '/play" & srcAudioFile & "|Zone=" srcSerialPort.Name &"'")


and works like a charm.