INTERACT FORUM

More => Old Versions => JRiver Media Center 18 for Windows => Topic started by: elprice7345 on July 16, 2013, 08:01:08 pm

Title: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: elprice7345 on July 16, 2013, 08:01:08 pm
I wrote an expression that looks for duplicate TV episodes in my database using the following expression: "~dup=[Episode],[Season],[Series]"

I expected it to only return files where the combination of the 3 fields was unique, for example: "30 Rock", "1", "21" would only be a duplicate of "30 Rock", "1", "21".

Instead, it returned duplicates that match the concatenated text string of the values, for example: "30 Rock", "1", "21" was a duplicate of "30 Rock", "12", "1" as in "30 Rock121"

Can this be corrected?
Title: Re: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: MrC on July 16, 2013, 08:17:34 pm
Yuck.

If the values are being concatenated, they should be joined using a unique separator to help ensure this doesn't happen.  I would have thought MC did a select on the matching values individually.

Matt?
Title: Re: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: elprice7345 on July 26, 2013, 01:05:04 am
Status?

Will this be fixed any time soon?
Title: Re: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: MrC on July 26, 2013, 01:12:17 am
Use the Import/Export button to redine the ~dup modifier as follows:

   ~dup=[Episode]_[Season]_[Series]

The comma operator is just a concatenation.  So you can separate the field values with any separator string to help ensure uniqueness.
Title: Re: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: elprice7345 on August 03, 2013, 03:29:31 pm
That didn't work for me. When I edit the Smartlist, click Import/Export, insert the new text you've supplied and click OK, it blanks out the new duplicate text string.

It doesn't seem to accept any concatenator other than commas. Any other ideas? Can the expression language be fixed?
Title: Re: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: MrC on August 03, 2013, 03:55:19 pm
It works. Just ignore what the GUI shows. I tested it.
Title: Re: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: elprice7345 on August 03, 2013, 04:31:04 pm
Not for me in a smartlist. When I change the text, it blanks out the field list in the "duplicates of" field list. I click apply and the added text in the import/export box has been deleted.

Original expression:
Quote
[Media Type]=[TV],[Video] -[Season]=[] ~sort=[Series],[Season] ~dup=[Episode],[Season],[Series]

Edited expression:
Quote
[Media Type]=[TV],[Video] -[Season]=[] ~sort=[Series],[Season]~dup=[Episode]_[Season]_[Series]

Resulting expression (after clicking OK):
Quote
[Media Type]=[TV],[Video] -[Season]=[] ~sort=[Series] ~dup=

It doesn't accept anything, but commas as delimiters for me.
Title: Re: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: MrC on August 03, 2013, 09:57:30 pm
I think I must have made some mistake in my testing, because I'm seeing the same thing now.

Anyway, create a new customer user calculated field, called something like Episode_Season_Series, and define it to be the value:

   [Episode]_[Season]_[Series]

and use this value in your ~dup modifier:

  ~dup=[Episode_Season_Series]

You may have to restart MC for the field to show up under ~dup.
Title: Re: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: elprice7345 on August 04, 2013, 04:05:18 pm
That works, but it's a work around for a bug in the expression language.

Any chance we can get the logic fixed so it works correctly?
Title: Re: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: MrC on August 04, 2013, 05:33:43 pm
Good to hear the workaround works.  JRiver reads all the threads, so they are aware of the issue.
Title: Re: Expression Language Duplicate Bug
Post by: JimH on August 04, 2013, 05:58:01 pm
I have to read some of them two or three times.