INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: What is the expression for custom field == 1 ?  (Read 1395 times)

cron0sRXR8

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
What is the expression for custom field == 1 ?
« on: April 18, 2013, 03:22:03 pm »

Hi!

I want make an smartlist and I need simulate the "match only checked items" or "match only ticked items" of itunes. I've thought that I can use the custom field in j river for doing this.

What is the expression for show audio files that:
"Custom field == 1"

What is the code??

Logged

Neco

  • World Citizen
  • ***
  • Posts: 182
Re: What is the expression for custom field == 1 ?
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2013, 03:52:19 pm »

Conditional If Then Else Evaluator

does this help at all?

You could also try using IsEmpty()  - only in this case you would be using it "backwards".  i.e you WANT a return value of false.

I have used it to great effect in the past to manipulate data and tags.  i.e  show a list only containing items who have a value in a given field.
Logged

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: What is the expression for custom field == 1 ?
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2013, 04:29:50 pm »

Custom allows you to enter MC expression language constructs in the form of a query.  The format is:

[=expression]=1

You should be able to accomplish what you want without this.  I've responded in your other thread.
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

cron0sRXR8

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
Re: What is the expression for custom field == 1 ?
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2013, 05:14:17 pm »

Conditional If Then Else Evaluator

does this help at all?

You could also try using IsEmpty()  - only in this case you would be using it "backwards".  i.e you WANT a return value of false.

I have used it to great effect in the past to manipulate data and tags.  i.e  show a list only containing items who have a value in a given field.

Hi,

Thanks for the links but I'm not a programmer   :-X

You can say me what should be the code for do it this??

I try this but don't work:

custom    [custom]="1"

in the field I write "1" but this don't work.

I can make it easily with fields: comment, notes and description tags. But I should like do it with another tag. Is it possible?

Thank you!!!

PD sorry for my english!
PD2: Mrc, I reply you in the other post, you can repy me in here or there, not problem! thank you also!
Logged

glynor

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 19608
Re: What is the expression for custom field == 1 ?
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2013, 06:48:15 pm »

You should be able to pick your custom field from the drop-down.  You don't need to use the special "Custom" choice in there.

To be clear... Picking Custom here:



Allows you to add special custom expressions as a rule.  You don't need to use that if you are simply comparing the value of a field (tag) in your Library, even custom ones.  Any Fields you've added via Tools > Options > Library & Folders > Manage Library Fields will automatically show up in the drop-down listing, and you can pick them like any of the built-in fields.
Logged
"Some cultures are defined by their relationship to cheese."

Visit me on the Interweb Thingie: http://glynor.com/

MrC

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10462
  • Your life is short. Give me your money.
Re: What is the expression for custom field == 1 ?
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2013, 07:21:02 pm »

Maybe its time to suggest a renaming of the "Custom" special pseudo-field something unique:

  <Custom Query>
  _Special_
  Keep Out
 
   
Logged
The opinions I express represent my own folly.

cron0sRXR8

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
Re: What is the expression for custom field == 1 ?
« Reply #6 on: April 19, 2013, 01:44:06 pm »

thank you everyone!

finally I add a new tag in via Tools > Options > Library & Folders > Manage Library Fields

I create a tag named: "ticket". Now I put "1" for check one item! works perfectly!

Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up