INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Managing library of movies on Synology  (Read 2717 times)

JJay

Managing library of movies on Synology
« on: October 20, 2015, 10:13:18 am »

Hi there!  :)

I have been using MC for several years now to manage my audio files localy. It's been a breeze so far.

Yesterday, after upgrading to v21, I decided to give it a try to manager my movies located on a Synology DS211j.

Nothing worked as planned. Actually, I spent 3 hours scanning and tagging 400 movies yesterday. And today, my MC movie library is empty! Movies are still here on the syno, but MC database seems to be empty. Here are some of the questions I am asking myself :

- how can I tel MC to use the login/password required to access the UNC (//Synology/etc..) where my movies are.
- what NFO format does MC support? I have 1000+ movies tagged with XBMC NFOs and MC does not recognize them at all.
- How can I force MC to use folder.jpeg as a default Image File for each movies? Each movie is in its own directory.
- How can I have MC display the movie list/database, even when the Synology is offline?
- "Update tags from Library" always gives an error, while files are unlocked and access rights properly configured; is this feature supported for movies?

I would gladly read any technical in-deep documentation about how MC handles videos/movies.

Searching the wiki yield a lot of outdated articles... Can anyone point me to usefull ressources/doc/tips about video and movies management?

Thanx and have fun tagging! ;D

ferday

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
Re: Managing library of movies on Synology
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2015, 10:23:51 am »

MC will read .nfo if

They contain .xml style data
They have the same name as the file (movie name.nfo)

https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php?topic=87442.msg598717#msg598717