INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Subtitles: When english speaking character speak a second language in the film  (Read 2812 times)

dreandre

• Junior Woodchuck

I'm watching Brad Pitt in "The Fury" and it's a good example.  It's a English speaking film, but often he speaks German since the film is based in Germany.  How do you manage subtitles when you don't what the entire film to show them, only when the character speak in another language? 

Simple answer please... I'm a layman!   ::)

RoderickGI

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe

It is called forced subtitles when an alternate language is shown in subtitles on a film that is primarily in your language.

Make sure that your preferred language and subtitle behaviour is set up in Option/Video. If the video file has the correct type of subtitles in it, as DVDs and some MKV files do, then they should work. If the subtitles aren't included, you need to find an srt file with the subtitles in it, put it in the same directory as the video file, and name it the same as the video file with an srt extension.

Then it may work.

Sometimes you can find srt files with just the Forced Subtitles that you want in them, and no other subtitles. Those are easiest to use. If the subtitle timing matches. Note that if you find those, all you need do at the start of the movie the first time you play it is select the subtitle file using the MC OSD display, and then MC will remember to always use that subtitle file in future.

Research Forced Subtitles. It is a confusing mess of a topic. Sorry, there is no real simple answers to this one.
What specific version of MC you are running:MC27.0.27 @ Oct 27, 2020 and updating regularly Jim!                        MC Release Notes: https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Release_Notes