INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Spacebar to Pause/Play now works - sort of?  (Read 2964 times)

Etsijä

• Recent member
Spacebar to Pause/Play now works - sort of?
« on: February 08, 2016, 01:10:12 am »

With earlier versions, it seemed impossible to specify this simple feature in Media Center - to use spacebar as a  play/pause button.  But with Media Center 20 whe behaviour has become really weird: I have two installs for the software, one on my desktop PC, running Win7, and another on my laptop, running Win10.

On my desktop, all of a sudden, spacebar DOES INVOKE play/pause.  On my laptop, however, it does not.

I am a dance teacher and am using my laptop to play the rehearsal music on my classes.  I really really need the spacebar functionality, as you can imagine it is much more difficult to be hitting that Play button constantly with my mouse.

Now, is there a configuration item somewhere which I need to toggle in order for my laptop also to use the spacebar as a play/pause button?

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Spacebar to Pause/Play now works - sort of?
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2016, 06:40:29 am »

MC needs to have focus.  Click the mouse anywhere on MC first, then the spacebar should work.

Etsijä

• Recent member
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2016, 05:47:58 am »

MC needs to have focus.  Click the mouse anywhere on MC first, then the spacebar should work.

Alas, this is not as simple as that.  Now as I tested it, it needs to have focus on the upper portion of the window (the one where all the playback controls are) before SPACEBAR works.  In practise:
- you start the song
- you need to click with the mouse somewhere in the playback area of Jukebox window
- only after that, SPACEBAR works as a Play/Pause shortcut

Not very intuitive at all.

blgentry

• Citizen of the Universe