INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: TVDB Episode Number "Special"  (Read 3898 times)

syndromeofadown

• MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
TVDB Episode Number "Special"
« on: October 10, 2016, 04:21:18 pm »

Hello all

I'm new to TV shows that aren't DVDs ripped to hard disc folder.
I ripped a season to MKV with 22 episodes but TVDB shows it as 20 episodes plus a two part Special.
These specials are shown as episode "Special".

How do I get MC to add metadata from TVDB to these Special files?

Thanks

blgentry

Re: TVDB Episode Number "Special"
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2016, 04:32:14 pm »

For the very few of these that I have, it appears that you can use Season 0, or Season "Special" and MC will find the right information.  I believe that TheTVDB classifies all Specials as their own Season for lookups.

Brian.

syndromeofadown

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2016, 04:42:09 pm »

Thanks blgentry.

I tried all sorts of variations of episodes and seasons but in the end found a way that got the info.
I used season 2 and episodes 0.1 and 0.2 since they aired at the beginning of season 2.
I copied and pasted the episode name from TVDB into the name field in MC then re-scraped/looked up.
All other fields were filled in correctly and the episode numbers remained 0.1 and 0.2.
Negative numbers instead of decimals would likely have the same results.

RoderickGI

• MC Beta Team
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2016, 05:07:11 pm »

The best method is always to look up what has been done on TheTVDB for the series, and use the same method. Some series are handled differently to others, until someone fixes them by changing them to match the rules. The rules are Season is 00, episode in the sequence number in which they were shown, from memory. The rules are on the web site somewhere.

It is a bit strange to see that your solution worked. What Series was that?