INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Getting started with JRiver and QNAP NAS TS-251+  (Read 6917 times)

robland

• Junior Woodchuck
Getting started with JRiver and QNAP NAS TS-251+
« on: November 25, 2016, 02:28:15 pm »

I'm a total newb -- just today I got my QNAP 2-bay up and running.

Here's my scenario -- maybe I just need a link to the right starter doc.

I'm running JRiver on a Lenovo Win10 laptop, which holds a music 500 GB library.

I've been using JRiver media network to send music to a Hegel 360 amp via DLNA ethernet.

In JRiver, under Playing from, the NAS appears and I can play sample music from the QNAP's Multimedia folder.

In other words, it seems like using JRiver to play music from the QNAP "just works" -- hurrah!

My super-basic questions:

-- I want to transfer my 500GB music library from my Lenovo laptop to the QNAP. Is this as simple as using QNAP File Station to upload the Music folder from my PC to the QNAP? Or should I map the QNAP Multimedia folder to my PC and drag the Music folder into it from the PC? Or does it make any difference how the Music folder gets moved to QNAP?

-- After I transfer the music files, I need to rip another 1500 CDs to the QNAP. In JRiver, I think I can configure where CD rips go by using Tools > Options > File Location > Audio and change from C:\Users\username\Music\ to Network\NAS037033\Multimedia\Music.  Is that correct?

I'm not interested (yet) in installing JRiver on the QNAP itself, I find docs like this explaining that scenario - https://download.qnap.com/QPKG/GUIDE/Jriver_ENG.pdf

But I haven't found a topic on my simple scenario. Am I using the QNAP with JRiver the right way?

JimH

• Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: Getting started with JRiver and QNAP NAS TS-251+
« Reply #1 on: November 25, 2016, 06:30:02 pm »