INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MQA and subtitles  (Read 3232 times)

stanzani

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 463
  • Music and Audio enthusiast
MQA and subtitles
« on: February 28, 2018, 03:40:05 am »

I will upgrade to MC24 for sure, at least to support this great product which sells at reasonable price
Saying that, I am asking about
- MQA decoding?
- select subtitles somewhere else than OSD when in DLNA?
thanks much and keep on the great work
Logged
Stereo:
DAW: Fanless Case Streatcon 7 with MSI A97I mobo, 2 x 8G RAM (Hynix) with Intel I5 CPU.
NAS: QNAP TS-531 with 5x4TB HDDs
DAC/ADC: RME ADI2 PRO
Speakers (active): 2 x ATC SCM50ASL
Subs (active): 2 x REL 528 Signature

Hendrik

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 10814
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2018, 03:41:43 am »

Our stance towards MQA has not changed.
Logged
~ nevcairiel
~ Author of LAV Filters

RD James

  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 1871
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2018, 07:40:59 am »

Saying that, I am asking about
- MQA decoding?
I don't work for JRiver, but they aren't going to license or work on reverse-engineering the format.
Once there is an open-source decoder, they might consider adding support.
 
I would say that your questions are better directed toward the companies trying to con you into buying a lossy closed-source high-res format when several very good and open-source lossless compression formats already exist.
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7498
  • When Summer comes...
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2018, 08:19:50 am »

I'd be highly surprised to see an open-source MQA decoder anytime soon. Even if one existed and JRiver (or another paid/commercial software application) added it, it's possible they could open themselves up to a lawsuit from Meridian for not licensing.

I would say that your questions are better directed toward the companies trying to con you into buying a lossy closed-source high-res format when several very good and open-source lossless compression formats already exist.

This. IMO, MQA is the best example of audiophile snake oil right now.
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/500GB M.2 NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | iFi ZEN DAC 3 | JBL 306P MkII Studio Monitors | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones

stanzani

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 463
  • Music and Audio enthusiast
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2018, 11:19:22 am »

I basically agree with the opinions about MQA exposed here . I just wanted to better understand what the situation is now. thanks
Logged
Stereo:
DAW: Fanless Case Streatcon 7 with MSI A97I mobo, 2 x 8G RAM (Hynix) with Intel I5 CPU.
NAS: QNAP TS-531 with 5x4TB HDDs
DAC/ADC: RME ADI2 PRO
Speakers (active): 2 x ATC SCM50ASL
Subs (active): 2 x REL 528 Signature

pschelbert

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #5 on: February 28, 2018, 11:25:50 am »

MQA is a clever rip-off to make money by degrading quality! And some people believe in it.

I am however a bit more clever than the marketing guys of MQA and recognized it as a pur joke and vodoo.

Peter
Logged

astromo

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 2239
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #6 on: February 28, 2018, 02:36:55 pm »

I will upgrade to MC24 for sure, at least to support this great product which sells at reasonable price
Saying that, I am asking about
- MQA decoding?
- select subtitles somewhere else than OSD when in DLNA?
thanks much and keep on the great work

Don't forget that stanzani started out with two questions. The 2nd didn't get a response.

Posting a reply now gives me an MQA opportunity - I found this view posted by Jim Collinson of Linn to be a great, non-audiophile way of critiquing MQA:
https://www.linn.co.uk/blog/mqa-is-bad-for-music
As is often the case, following the money provides considerable insight into the agenda. For homework, search out the pieces posted by Archimago where he reports on a global (thanks internet) ABX test.

EDIT:
This link looks interesting (I haven't read it yet ... I'm being demanded to show an appearance elsewhere) -
https://www.computeraudiophile.com/ca/reviews/mqa-a-review-of-controversies-concerns-and-cautions-r701/
Logged
MC31, Win10 x64, HD-Plex H5 Gen2 Case, HD-Plex 400W Hi-Fi DC-ATX / AC-DC PSU, Gigabyte Z370 ULTRA Gaming 2.0 MoBo, Intel Core i7 8700 CPU, 4x8GB GSkill DDR4 RAM, Schiit Modi Multibit DAC, Freya Pre, Nelson Pass Aleph J DIY Clone, Ascension Timberwolf 8893BSRTL Speakers, BJC 5T00UP cables, DVB-T Tuner HDHR5-4DT

jb82

  • Junior Woodchuck
  • **
  • Posts: 93
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2018, 03:42:47 am »

Our stance towards MQA has not changed.

Good to know.

I'd expressly request that you please do NOT spend ANY dev time on this nonsense. Very disappointing/sad to see Meridian do this on so many levels. Itís as though they sacked all their amazing engineers and recruited a bunch of MBAs to establish their technology strategy.
Logged

RoderickGI

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8186
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #8 on: March 04, 2018, 06:13:26 pm »

Saying that, I am asking about
- select subtitles somewhere else than OSD when in DLNA?

You raised this before. Did you try this;
https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,114469.msg792452.html#msg792452

See also;
https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/index.php/topic,113845.msg786814.html#msg786814

Plus search the forum for "Present Subtitle Resources".
Logged
What specific version of MC you are running:MC27.0.27 @ Oct 27, 2020 and updating regularly Jim!                        MC Release Notes: https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Release_Notes
What OS(s) and Version you are running:     Windows 10 Pro 64bit Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.572).
The JRMark score of the PC with an issue:    JRMark (version 26.0.52 64 bit): 3419
Important relevant info about your environment:     
  Using the HTPC as a MC Server & a Workstation as a MC Client plus some DLNA clients.
  Running JRiver for Android, JRemote2, Gizmo, & MO 4Media on a Sony Xperia XZ Premium Android 9.
  Playing video out to a Sony 65" TV connected via HDMI, playing digital audio out via motherboard sound card, PCIe TV tuner

stanzani

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 463
  • Music and Audio enthusiast
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #9 on: March 07, 2018, 09:28:25 am »

yes I tried and looks ok
I was just asking for an easier way so the unexperienced user does not have to dig into the advanced DLNA options deeply buried in the setup
Logged
Stereo:
DAW: Fanless Case Streatcon 7 with MSI A97I mobo, 2 x 8G RAM (Hynix) with Intel I5 CPU.
NAS: QNAP TS-531 with 5x4TB HDDs
DAC/ADC: RME ADI2 PRO
Speakers (active): 2 x ATC SCM50ASL
Subs (active): 2 x REL 528 Signature

michael123

  • Galactic Citizen
  • ****
  • Posts: 485
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2018, 02:38:35 pm »

Logged

winterwolf

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #11 on: March 15, 2018, 07:41:24 pm »

If I can play Master Files (MQA) in Tidal with MC and its WDM driver without sound artifacts, I will upgrade to MC24 in a heart-beat.

-- WW
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71774
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #12 on: March 15, 2018, 09:41:43 pm »

MC doesn't support MQA.
Logged

winterwolf

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #13 on: March 15, 2018, 10:15:49 pm »

Jim, you are correct and it is not needed since Tidal does the first unfolding for you (they support first level of MQA). What would be great if the output could be consumed by MC (24/96kHz) without artifacts (hissing and cracking noises). This way folks who like MQA can still use MC as the sound output/modulator. Best of both worlds :)
Logged

torgny

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
Re: MQA and subtitles
« Reply #14 on: March 16, 2018, 12:16:12 pm »

My sentiments exactly // TG

Jim, you are correct and it is not needed since Tidal does the first unfolding for you (they support first level of MQA). What would be great if the output could be consumed by MC (24/96kHz) without artifacts (hissing and cracking noises). This way folks who like MQA can still use MC as the sound output/modulator. Best of both worlds :)
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up