INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: MC think I have an optical disk inserted [Solved]  (Read 942 times)

stevehughes

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
MC think I have an optical disk inserted [Solved]
« on: May 13, 2019, 12:54:45 am »

For some months, in fact since the last time I played a shiny round thing, MC seems to think I have a disk inserted.  Any time I hit the green button on the remote to go to the front menu it pops up a message saying that it couldn't read the disk.

Any idea how I can politely advise MC that it's mistaken?
Logged

JimH

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 71838
  • Where did I put my teeth?
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted
« Reply #1 on: May 13, 2019, 06:30:10 am »

Did you try pulling the plug to the computer?
Logged

stevehughes

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted
« Reply #2 on: May 13, 2019, 03:45:35 pm »

Itís been rebooted many times with no effect.

Maybe it doesnít actually think there is a disc in the drive. When we go to the front screen in theatre view via the green button it tells us that there is no disc in the drive, as if it wants to start auto-playing. However it doesnít do this if I use the Ďbackí key on the remote to get to the front screen.

I did at one stage have ĎDVDí included in the front menu, but Iíve since removed that with no effect. In fact I even reset the theatre view menus, also with no effect.
Logged

swiv3d

  • Guest
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted
« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2019, 04:50:17 pm »

Have you tried putting a cd into the drive and then ejecting it via the MC program?
Logged

stevehughes

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2019, 05:59:12 am »

Thanks for the suggestion, but I just tried that and it didnít help.
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7508
  • When Summer comes...
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2019, 06:08:24 am »

To be honest, to get rid of it you'd probably have to do a completely clean install and only import the libraries/playlists (and not settings) from a library backup. That's how I was able to get rid of a phantom CD/DVD/BD drive that was only connected once via USB from appearing in MC's list a couple years back.

EDIT: Actually you might be able to open the Registry Editor (regedit) and navigate to Computer\HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\JRiver\Media Center 24\ and delete the CD Reader and CD Writer folders/keys with MC closed and see if that works. Always do a backup of those keys first though (right click > Export).
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/500GB M.2 NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | iFi ZEN DAC 3 | JBL 306P MkII Studio Monitors | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones

stevehughes

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2019, 06:14:12 am »

Ouch!

Thanks for that info.

If there is no other way I can certainly do that.  Surely there must be an easier way?
Logged

Awesome Donkey

  • Administrator
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 7508
  • When Summer comes...
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2019, 06:14:58 am »

Look above at my edited post, you might be able to do it via the Registry Editor. I was able to remove a CD/DVD/BD drive from MC doing it. If you connected the drive MC should add it back again (hopefully without it thinking it has a disc in the drive).

EDIT: As expected, MC does add the drive back - in my case, I turned on my USB-connected CD/DVD/BD drive and MC added it back. :)
Logged
I don't work for JRiver... I help keep the forums safe from Viagra and other sources of sketchy pharmaceuticals.

Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit + Ubuntu 24.04 LTS Noble Numbat 64-bit | Windows 11 2024 Update (24H2) 64-bit (Intel N305 Fanless NUC 16GB RAM/500GB M.2 NVMe SSD)
JRiver Media Center 32 (Windows + Linux) | iFi ZEN DAC 3 | JBL 306P MkII Studio Monitors | Audio-Technica ATH-M50x Headphones

stevehughes

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2019, 04:48:09 pm »

Thanks for that idea. I removed it and MC did add it back. Not solved through.

My topic title is misleading. Thinking about it, the issue is not so much that MC thinks there is a disc in the drive. The issue is that when I hit the green button in theatre view MC complains that there is no disk in the drive and asks me to choose retry/cancel.  For some reason hitting the green button seems to be tied to some DVD- or CD- related action.
Logged

RoderickGI

  • MC Beta Team
  • Citizen of the Universe
  • *****
  • Posts: 8186
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2019, 06:41:26 pm »

If MC thinks there is a disc in the drive, it would show a "DVD" or "Blu-ray" item in Theatre View under the Video menu. I had a phantom one of those for a little while, when I was mucking around with stuff, but a reboot fixed that.

It actually sounds like your Green Button has been programmed to send the MCE "DVD Menu" command, which will give you the message you are seeing when there is no disc in the drive.

Is your remote control programmable?
Have you made changes to your remote control?
Have you had MC learn any commands under Remote Control?
Logged
What specific version of MC you are running:MC27.0.27 @ Oct 27, 2020 and updating regularly Jim!                        MC Release Notes: https://wiki.jriver.com/index.php/Release_Notes
What OS(s) and Version you are running:     Windows 10 Pro 64bit Version 2004 (OS Build 19041.572).
The JRMark score of the PC with an issue:    JRMark (version 26.0.52 64 bit): 3419
Important relevant info about your environment:     
  Using the HTPC as a MC Server & a Workstation as a MC Client plus some DLNA clients.
  Running JRiver for Android, JRemote2, Gizmo, & MO 4Media on a Sony Xperia XZ Premium Android 9.
  Playing video out to a Sony 65" TV connected via HDMI, playing digital audio out via motherboard sound card, PCIe TV tuner

stevehughes

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted
« Reply #10 on: May 15, 2019, 06:48:27 pm »

Spot on !  It is a programmable remote - a Harmony One. I tried a regular cheap MCE remote and the green button works as it should.

So somewhere along the line I have messed up the programming of the remote.  Most likely when I was fiddling to get it talking to my home-built Hypex DSP/amp.

Thanks heaps for the pointer.
Logged

stevehughes

  • Recent member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: MC think I have an optical disk inserted [Solved]
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2019, 08:39:25 pm »

You were right RoderickGI.  I had managed to assign the wrong function to the 'Menu' button on the Harmony (it doesn't have the green button).  In Harmony parlance I had assigned the 'Menu' function to the Menu button thinking that this would bring up the front menu in MC,  but in reality it is 'DVD Menu'.  Whats annoying is that I have made the same mistake before several years ago!  >:(

Once I assigned the 'Media' function to the menu button everything works as it should.
Logged
Pages: [1]   Go Up