INTERACT FORUM

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1]   Go Down

Author Topic: Client-server set up and graphics card question  (Read 2048 times)

Z0001

• Citizen of the Universe
Client-server set up and graphics card question
« on: April 09, 2020, 09:41:31 pm »

Hi

I'm a bit new to the use case for a server-client set up.

The idea of having a server MC machine in a non media room appeals if that machine can be the location of the noisy parts, and if it needs to be of a larger form factor.

In the viewing room, I want to be able to watch lower resolution content (DVD of pre digital content) on a 4k screen. Does this room need a high power graphics card, or can some of that upscaling be done by the server, requiring a less powerful graphics card in the viewing room, and consequently a smaller form factor case?

Appreciate any ideas!

Z

wer

Re: Client-server set up and graphics card question
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2020, 09:47:51 pm »

It's the opposite.  The machine that's hooked to the display does the rendering and needs the horsepower.  The server just serves files and the database, and can be more modest.

Instead of incurring the complexity of trying to have a working client server setup (and there are lots of complications) you will have an easier time just putting together a quiet machine to live in the media room.

It is not too difficult to build or buy one that is silent or nearly silent, certainly quiet enough not to be heard over the audio coming out of your sound system.

For me, I find it's best to let the display handle the 4k upscaling from HD.  My LG does a good job at this, and it allows the playback machine to use a modest graphics card, even using MadVR.  If you insist on upscaling to 4k on the graphics card itself, so that you have more control, a higher-end card will be needed.  The forums here have good recommendations on cards suitable for 4k scaling with MadVR.

tij